Cocoa-Nana-Poo

I came back from walking Marshall to find this. *sigh*


HOLY COW! I’m on a roll, I baked with the TWD Bakers twice in a row this month!
This week Steph of Obsessed with Baking selected Cocoa-nana bread for the TWD Bakers to try out. Check out Steph’s blog and see all of the yummy goodies she has displayed. Her food photos are really nice – I have a lot of food photo envy with 99% of the group (guess who the 1% is? – HAH!). You can also find the recipe there too. But enough already, just BUY the BOOK!
There was some discussion regarding the combo of bananas and chocolate in the P&Qs, I’m totally on the pro chocolate and bananas combo (um, yes I realize that I have stated I don’t like fruit with my chocolate).
When I was done mixing the dough, I was a little perturbed. It looked like an awful lot of dough for the 9×5 loaf pan. It filled up to the top, see:
I was wondering if there would be overspill since there was baking powder and baking soda involved. After the 30 minute baking period, it came out looking like a Cocoa-nana Souffle, see:

Kind of dark photo - but can you see the souffle??


I was pretty psyched about that. I should have known better. I put the foil tent on top and 35 minutes later I checked on the Cocoa-nana bread and discovered that it had pooed, see:

I realize that 'poo' is not quite the right description, but it's cuter than the alternative...


Very depressing. It was taking a longer time to bake with the poo all over the place so the top ended up getting a bit hard. Not that that’s a bad thing, I like crunchy. I often like to burn a batch of cookies because I like it that way sometimes. It’s just that I was soo high about the souffle part and just like a souffle, I got very deflated when the bread pooed. And the bread is BROWN too! Yeah, I can see the crowd of people just dying to have a piece of Cocoa-nana Poo. But I have to admit – it was REALLY tasty! Who would have guessed?
Stay tuned for next week, will I still be on my roll? Stop by and find out!

Last Week: Chocolate Oatmeal Almost-Candy Bars
Next Week: Milk Chocolate Mini-Bundt Cakes

12 responses to this post.

  1. You are on a roll and I love it! So sorry about the Poo.ha ha your so funny! Im glad it tasted good!

    Reply

  2. That is hilarious! At least it tasted good, right?

    Reply

  3. You are hysterical! I’ve never seen that before. Good way to sneak a taste without anyone knowing.
    Thanks for sharing!!!

    Reply

  4. I know I shouldn’t laugh, but I can’t help it. What a photo of this little overflow issue! I’m with you, only slightly different…I don’t like chocolate with my fruit! Guys loved this…of course they would. Chocolate the next three weeks, want to run away until the honey wheat cookies come up? Just kidding, I know you like chocolate. Funny post, still chuckling.

    Reply

  5. I didn’t get a chance to bake this one, I actually forgot what day of the week it was! But man, this post had me and my husband laughing out loud. Funny stuff. Sorry it got everywhere though, I hate it when that happens, but at least you made good come out of it with humor!

    Reply

  6. Oh my gosh, the poo is about the funniest thing I’ve ever seen! Glad you liked your poo bread! ;)

    Reply

  7. Oh my goodness! You got great photos of the poo! It was TONS of batter for a loaf pan, I actually put some of it in ramekins to avoid overflow.

    Reply

  8. It looked so pretty when it was in the souffle stage! Oh well, at least it tasted good. I skipped this one, but I think bananas and chocolate is a good combo.

    Reply

  9. WOW! Keep it going… we love seeing more of your doing! Bravo on the loaf, it looks really nice, moist and plump… so plump you almost got another loaf huh? LOL LOL

    Reply

  10. You are so funny! Your bread is perfect, moist and delicious! Beautiful photo of the poo…

    Reply

  11. Hey I just got your comment on my blog. I have not decided on a color yet(or should I say we) my sweet hubby and I have different tastes when it comes to granite. He’s being alittle stubborn and not bending my way.lol! We are actually waiting on a phone call to get into this ladies house that had the granite you liked. We want to see it in her kitchen to get a better idea how it will look when it’s all done. So that’s where were at with the granite!
    Have a great day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

