Burnt Sugar Ice Cream

At 4:00am, it's still soft serve. Can't wait to get home from work today!!


Who: Becky Olsen of Project Domestication
What: Burnt Sugar
Where: TWD
Why: P&Qs
Result: Ho-ly Cow! So far I haven’t had any luck with egg-based ice creams. They end up tasting filmy. I can’t say for certain if my luck has changed because I haven’t tasted the final product yet, but in the interim, it was TOTALLY delicious! I can still smell the burnt sugar in the kitchen, mmmm. I still have another cup of heavy cream left. I want to make this again with the leftover cream, but first someone will have to eat all of the burnt sugar ice cream. Hmmm, I suppose I can help out…

Last Week: Chockablock Cookies
Next Week: Quick Classic Berry Tart

1 cup of sugar with 3 T of water


Burnt sugar!


I couldn't get a picture of the lava that erupted when the cream and milk hit the burnt sugar!


I was thoroughly amazed that the caramel lumps actually melted...


It's past my bedtime, but it's still churning...



16 responses to this post.

  1. Oh, my, that looks just delightful. So creamy and smooth and yummy! Love the process photos. It was a big hit here…next time I am going to be a little braver and take it to the next degree of darkness. Living on the edge, yep, next time!

    Reply

  2. we’ve got the same ice cream maker! it looks lovely and creamy. great for anytime eating :)

    Reply

  3. Love your step by step photos and your “burnt” sugar looks perfect in the pan.

    Reply

  4. Nice step by step photos! Your soft serve ice cream looks lovely–I found mine didn’t freeze too hard–perfect for ice cream sandwiches.

    Reply

  5. Like that shot of the ice cream in the maker. Nice job!

    Reply

  6. Well done job! I’ve never had any luck with eggless ice cream myself! Always turned out to be bland with an icy texture. I’m not sure but I don’t think it would be the eggs though, making your ice cram filmy… if it would be, then your custard probably wasn’t cooked enough. I think it was more like the amount of milk vs cream. For this one again, I didn’t follow the recipe to a T… after all the ice creams I’ve made these passed summers, I found the mix I like… half and half (milk-cream)… plus, whole eggs and never again only yolks.

    Either way, yours looks like it turned out great, I’m glad you enjoyed that much!

    Reply

  7. Wow, love your step by step pictures! Enjoy the ice cream, it’s so delicious!

    Reply

  8. Posted by bexbakes on May 5, 2010 at 7:58 am

    Nice process photos! Looks delicious

    Reply

  9. It looks great! It really was amazing how the hardened caramel melted. I know what you mean about egg-based ice creams being filmy. I had a little bit of that with this one, but it wasn’t bad. I still prefer the egg-free recipes though.

    Reply

  10. That ice cream is seriously the best ice cream I’ve seen all day! It looks perfect, cold and just tasty! Im happy you enjoyed the recipe. I am bummed I missed this one..but let me tell you I’ve had a busy last two weeks with CASA..so many poor children who need a voice in court..lots of abused and neglected children out there. My ice cream maker broke last year and I’ve yet to replace it. I need to get on it so I can make this yummy ice cream!

    Reply

  11. great job! glad i was able to help this week ;)

    Reply

  12. Posted by teaandscones on May 5, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    Came out beautifully. It was pretty tasty.

    Reply

  13. First time on your blog.
    Gotta tell you…it’s not the first time I’ve seen this recipe…but it is the first time it got my attention long enough to think of making this luscious dessert soon.
    I love ice cream…do not have a machine…still making it a little more traditionally.
    I’ll finish my butterscotch ice cream first and then I’ll be giving this a try.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Flavourful wishes, Claudia

    Reply

  14. Sweet ice cream success! Excellent step-by-step photos. Now I know what mine should have looked like! Even with under-burned sugar, this was still good, so I can only imagine how amazing yours turned out.

    Reply

  15. Your step by step photos are marvellous – and the icecream itself looks devine. Hope you enjoyed it when you finally got a taste.

    Reply

  16. Glad you enjoyed it – and it looks “eatable” at the churning stage! I loved this so much I bought a machine – same one as yours – and love it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

