Coconut Butter Thins

Today is my first official post with the Tuesdays with Dorie group and I’m soo late!  I’m happy to be a new member of the TWD group, YAY!  I finished baking the cookies late last night.  I was a little skeptical about these cookies, not about baking them, but about eating them because I’m not a fan of coconut.  But when I read everyone’s comments about how yummy these turned out, the skepticism went out the door.

Another easy recipe to complete.  I really like the method of rubbing the zest with the sugar with your fingers.  Kind of messy but a fun kind of messy.  The smell of the lime zest and the sugar made me happy!  It was interesting adding the pinch of coriander.  I haven’t used this spice before and a pinch seemed kind of small so I added another pinch, but I can’t say that it made a difference in the end – I couldn’t really taste the coriander… although it could be that I’m not sure what taste I should be looking out for.  I had a little trouble rolling the dough inside the bag, which was a genius idea of Dorie!  A little air was trapped at the bottom and I wasn’t able to get it out.  After the 2 hours in the refrigerator, it was hard enough to do the cutting.  My beau had a good chuckle when he saw me using a tape measure (no ruler to be found) to measure out the 1 1/2″ x 1 1/2″ cookies – but I was glad to see others did the same thing!

Here are some cookies before going in the oven:

Coconut Butter Thins before baking...

Coconut Butter Thins before baking...

The cookies didn’t spread that much at all and came out nice and crisp.  Here is a bad picture after they came out of the oven:

Coconut Butter Thins after baking...

Coconut Butter Thins after baking...

I apologize for my pictures.  I obviously need to practice a lot more with food photography!

The cookies came out really tasty!  The coconut did not overtake the taste of these butter thins as I thought they would.  I LOVE them and will definitely bake them again!  The beau liked them too.  We had guests for dinner, K and A, who had cookies with their coffee before they left and loved the taste of these cookies too.

Thank you Jayne for picking this recipe!  It’s another TWD winner with me.  Please see Jayne’s blog The Barefoot Kitchen Witch (which is beautiful and has really wonderful pictures) for the recipe so you too can enjoy these cookies at home!  Check out the other TWD blogs to see how everyone else did with these cookies too!

Next week is Banana Cream Pie!

3 responses to this post.

  1. YUM!
    this looks great! i love coconut and coconut butter!

    Reply

  2. Posted by breaduponthewater on April 2, 2009 at 6:11 pm

    Gorgeous!

    Reply

  3. Posted by uclala on April 8, 2009 at 5:16 am

    Recipe man – you should definitely try this recipe out since you love coconut! I don’t like coconut that much but this cookie is DELICIOUS!

    breaduponthewater – thank you for your kind comment!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

