Banana Cream Pie

This week Amy of Sing for Your Supper chose Dorie’s Banana Cream Pie for us to bake. Pies in general stress me out a bit, mainly because I’m not that handy with the pie crust. Frankly, pie crusts scare me – not in the ‘BOO!’ way, but in the ‘I’m afraid to do that way’. Very unlucky with pie crusts, I either mash them too much when pressing them in the pan or roll them out weird. They always come out um, with a lot of character! I’m very pleased to say the Banana Cream Pie crust came out quite nicely! I still have a lot of practice ahead of me in crimping the edges; I cheated a little by using a ceramic pie pan that had crimped edges already (although you can’t really tell from the picture).

Banana Cream Pie happens to be the pie that was my Dad’s favorite. And my nephew’s favorite too. So it’s a pie that is very nostalgic for me and I really didn’t want to mess it up. The vanilla cream turned out well. Like so many others, it thickened really quickly. By the time I pulled it off the heat, it looked curdled. But I whipped it and whipped it until it was smooth. It totally reminded me of pumpkin pie at the beginning because of the cinnamon and fresh nutmeg additions.

This recipe turns out to be quite convenient! I made the pie crust and the vanilla cream one night. Assembled it the next night! I could have done it all in one night but forgot to bring my hand mixer with me to my beau’s house. It’s a good goof since it brought to my attention that the pie can be made over a couple of days in case you don’t have time to do it all at once.

Here’s a picture of the whole pie (there’s a picture of a happy cow on the pie pan – too bad you can’t see it!):

Banana nana fo fana fee fy mo mana, Banana Cream Pie!

Banana nana fo fana fee fy mo mana, Banana Cream Pie!

And here’s a picture of a pie slice taken this morning. The pie slice was placed on an ironing board in my bedroom and I opened the blinds to let natural light come in, hoping it would help with the picture:

A slice of Banana Cream Pie

A slice of Banana Cream Pie

I really like the flavor of this pie because I’m a big fan of cinnamon and nutmeg. I’m going to stop by my mom’s house tonight with the rest of the pie so she can try it out and so can my nephew who lives within walking distance of my mom’s house. Let’s see if he likes it too!

Don’t forget to check out the other TWD blogs to see how their pies turned out! Go to Sing for Your Supper by Amy for the Banana Cream Pie recipe if you’d like to try this recipe yourself!  You’ll be glad you did!  Thank you Amy for helping me get over my pie crust fright!

Next week: 15 Minute Magic Chocolate Amaretti Torte

Leave a Reply

