Four Star Chocolate Bread Pudding

I was feeling sick yesterday so wasn’t sure if I was going to make it this week with TWD.  Stopped by the grocery store last night and bought a loaf of Split Top Bread from the bakery department.  They didn’t have any challah or brioche and I’m not exactly sure what Split Top Bread is but it looked pretty white to me.  It wasn’t day old bread so I ‘staled’ it in the oven for the required 10 minutes.

As I used my beau’s handy-dandy tape measure to evenly cut my bread into 1″ cubes, I learned from him that you can guestimate an inch by using the length of your first knuckle.  His was an inch and mine was a little under so next time I don’t have his handy-dandy tape measure available I’ll use my trusty knuckle!

This was simple to put together.  Although I’m not sure if I brought the cream and milk to the correct level of a boil.  It kept getting a skin on top so after a while I just took it off the stove and mixed it in with the egg mixture.  (I now have quite a bit of egg whites in the freezer waiting for me to try out a macaron recipe with…)  After mixing all of the cream mixture into the egg mixture, I have to say it did not look custardy at all.  It was very liquidy and I was thinking I pulled the cream mixture off too soon or something.  The chocolate didn’t seem to blend it that well either.  It was already 10:30pm so I just went with it.  I poured it over the bread/dried cherries and hoped for the best.  Btw, first time I tried dried cherries and they’re really tasty!  I contemplated going without the dried cherries but decided to follow the recipe exactly.  I patted the bread mixture every 10 minutes and after waiting 30 minutes for the bread to soak up all the custard, which it amazingly did, I put it in the oven.  Now my pan setup was a bit tight.  I used a 9×13 pyrex dish which barely fit in my beau’s roasting pan so I knew I was going to have a hard time getting it out of the pan when finished.  ~35 minutes later it was out of the oven and a few minutes after that, out of the roasting pan – I had to kind of tilt my pyrex pan a bit to get it out.

By this time it was past my bedtime so I left it out to cool overnight.  It smelled really good though and I was soo tempted to eat a piece before going to bed!  I’m curious to see how it tastes because I don’t think I’ve ever had bread pudding before – it never appealed to me.  There’s not a lot of sugar in this recipe so I’m hoping the chocolate makes up for that.  I’m waiting for the beau to wake-up so he can take my pictures for me!  Well he took a picture for me but I’m unable to retrieve it at the moment so I’ll post it later!  Update:  Here it is!

Doesn't look very appetizing, does it?

Doesn't look very appetizing, does it?

For the recipe, head over to Lauren’s blog – Upper East Side Chronicle and check out how terrific her **** Chocolate Bread Pudding turned out and how fantastic it looks in her red dish!  Then head on over to the TWD blog and check out what the other bakers did and how inventive they were in using different types of ‘bread’ (home made brioche, croissants, donuts…).

I just tried it and it was good.  I tried it at room temperature so maybe it tastes better when it’s cold or warm from the oven.  I think it would taste better with fresh whipped cream and/or chocolate sauce too!

Next week:  Chocolate Cream Tart

Leave a Reply

