Asian Noodle Salad with Shrimp

Asian Noodle Salad with Shrimp - Colorful and Tasty!

Asian Noodle Salad with Shrimp - Colorful and Tasty!

After completing the Hummus bi Tahini appetizer, I set to work on the Asian Noodle Salad with Shrimp recipe that I found on epicurious.com. I had made this dish for a light dinner with the beau and we both loved it! I had my reservations as I was making it though as I realized that it actually was a salad – I should pay more attention to the names of the recipes I use I guess. As I was slicing the veggies I realized that everything was raw except for the noodles and the shrimp, and would be served cold.

It was the first time I boiled the Maifun noodles rather than frying them for Chinese Chicken Salad. And the noodles came out great! I love the texture of them and amazingly they don’t stick together like pasta noodles do sometimes (unless it’s just the way I do my pasta noodles…).

All you do is add some of the Maifun noodles into your salad bowl and top it with the sliced veggies (cucumbers – should have been Japanese but didn’t since the closest asian market is not that close, red bell pepper, and sugar snap peas) and the chopped herbs (cilantro and mint). Mix it with the shrimp and dressing which was made with fish sauce and chili-garlic sauce. For Mother’s Day, I swapped the sugar snap peas with snow peas. I’m not sure how sugar snap peas got their name because they’re not very sweet at all, in fact they’re a little bitter. I liked the salad a lot better with the snow peas.

This was such a delicious meal! I’m sure I’ll be making this again and again during the summer because it is really refreshing served cold.

I’ll post a picture when I get it from my sister. The beau’s camera kind of died on Mother’s Day – which leads me to believe that I might have jinxed it because the camera always had problems whenever I needed to have pictures taken of my food… oops. He’s the best beau though, takes pictures of my food for me and posts them for me too. XOXO for him!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Your recipes look delicious! This Asian salad with shrimp looks especially tasty. Thanks for the link, I’m going to go retrieve the recipe 🙂 (By the way, the mango bread also sounds yummy. I made some roasted banana muffins the other day which were delicious, but I, too, never thought to cook with mango. It’s so good fresh, I’ll bet it’d be terrific in baked goods.)

    Reply

    • Posted by uclala on May 21, 2009 at 2:33 am

      Hi Lynn, thanks for visiting my blog! You should definitely try the Asian Noodle Salad with Shrimp – it’s soo simple to make and really tastes great on hot days. I’ve been trying to find new salad recipes so I can pack it for my lunch at work. The salads on your blog look really tasty! I’ll have to try them. The Fresh Mango Bread didn’t really have a prominent mango flavor, I’m not sure if it’s because I diced them too small or the raisins were too much for me (not a fan of raisins). But I did love this bread, I loved the spices!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

