Tartest Lemon Tart

Powdered Sugar covers part of the burnt crust...

Powdered Sugar covers part of the burnt crust...

Saturday night I made TWD assignment Tartest Lemon Tart. I bought my lemons from the strawberry stand near my home. They have a little patch of land where they grow strawberries and some vegetables. I noticed a little basket of lemons and bought a few because they were ripe and ready to be used. I didn’t ask what kind of lemons they were, maybe I should have because the tart did not seem to taste too tart at all and I used everything except the lemon seeds. They contained A LOT of juice too, I was really pleased. I was thinking of just zesting the lemon rind but had a feeling the lemon skins were thin on these and I guessed right, take a look:

Juicy Lemons!

Juicy Lemons!

I just love Dorie’s recipes when they call for the food processor or the blender because they cut down on time and it was getting late.

Crust already brown before baking the tart...

Crust already brown before baking the tart...

My poor crust got a little brown after I baked it. I mixed in some toasted chopped pecans. When I filled it with the tart I had too much and filled a little cup with the remainder. Since my crust started off with some browness, it got a bit more brown by the time the tart was done. It reminded me of a lemon bar. I tried the leftover tart and it was very tasty, not too tart though. I had to practice self control because I knew the tart would taste soo much better with the crust!

In addition to Dorie’s Tartest Lemon Tart, we had a store bought chocolate cake from a local Ralph’s in the Encino area. I’ve never seen that cake at my local Ralph’s and we were all surprised how good it was! So we had a few slices left over from the Lemon Tart and half the cake left over from Ralph’s. My sister washed out my tart pan and gave me the pan to take home. Boo. But she was a very gracious host and deserved the lemony goodness of the Tartest Lemon Tart (not to mention the leftover hummus!)!

I’ll post the after shot when I get the pictures from my sister!

Thanks to Babette of Babette Feasts for choosing this recipe – loved it! Please visit Babette at Babette Feasts for the recipe and try it out for yourself! Then head on over to the TWD blog and check out all of the other variations available from the TWD bloglist!

Hmm, I visited Babette’s website and now know why my crust came out soo brown! I fully baked it instead of partially baking it prior to adding the lemon tart filling. I’m a goober. Babette’s Tartest Lemon Tart looks really delicious and it’s what my lemon tart wants to be when it grows up…

Next week: Fresh Mango Bread

5 responses to this post.

  1. Hi! Your lemons did have very little white pith! How did you find such nice lemons? Guess it really does depend on the lemons! Your blog looks nice! Do you think you’ll be able to keep up with TWD’s?? We hope we can! It makes it harder to get in shape for bikin season! =)

    Reply

    • Posted by uclala on May 13, 2009 at 3:28 pm

      Hello and thanks for the comments! Do you two bake the TWD assignment together? I was already late with the Chocolate Cream Tart but I’m hoping to keep up with TWD! I know what you mean about bikini season – my beau would have preferred me to join a cooking blog vs a baking blog! Looking forward to your next entry – your photos are really really nice!

      Reply

  2. Thanks for commenting on my blog. Your tart looks yummy. I thought this tart was a fancy lemon bar too. I used lemons from one of my co-worker’s tree and they also didn’t have to much pith and my tart wasn’t super tart which was nice.

    Reply

  3. Thank you for your visit! Your tart looks delicious! We all do at one time or another a few mistakes…
    Great job!

    Reply

  4. Your tart looks delicous, and I love a nice brown crust. Good work!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

