Fresh Mango Bread

Fresh Mini-Mango Bread!

Fresh Mini-Mango Bread!

I love banana bread and zucchini bread so I was anticipating that I’d love mango bread too! It never occurred to me to add mango to bread. Mangoes are one of my favorite fruits. My family is from Hawaii and whenever I’m in Hawaii I make the most of it by eating as much of the local food as possible. Papaya for breakfast everyday is the best!

I only have a glass bread loaf pan so I wanted to get a metal pan. Actually I wanted to make mini-loaves! Sur La Table is close to the beau’s house so I stopped by there to pick up my pans. I found a nice metal pan plus 4 mini-pans.

I bought my mangoes from Tom’s Farm in Corona. I’m the type of shopper who invariably asks the produce person to pick out a ripe watermelon/melon for me but since there wasn’t anyone around I tried to remember the hints from the TWD P&Qs. I selected 4 mangoes because I wanted to make sure I got 2 cups of diced mango, plus if there were any extra – YAY for me!

It took 2 of the mangoes to make 2 cups. This is another really easy recipe to put together. I was surprised that the sugar was added to the dry ingredients since it’s usually integrated with the wet ingredients. I love the spices cinnamon and ginger so I went with the amounts the recipe called for. I also added fresh grated nutmeg because that’s my favorite spice right now – mostly because it’s the first time I bought nutmeg as a nut and I live to use the microplane to grate it. The smell of the spices reminded me of Thanksgiving – pumpkin pie spices!

The smell of the canola oil was not as nice. I don’t use oil that often so I was a little worried if my oil was too old. The smell wasn’t pungent or anything like that but it did have a smell to it. After whisking the eggs with the oil, it looked, um, weird. Not the most descriptive cooking term but it looked weird to me.

O, well, I added it to the dry ingredients and boy, Dorie was right! It was a little rough getting the dough to come together! When I added the diced mango, raisins, and lime zest I wondered it I’d be able to blend all the ingredients well of if someone would end up with a slice of mango bread with a lump of raisins and lime zest. But the diced mango did soften the dough up and it was easier to blend it all in. I ended up using the regular size loaf pan but also used one of the mini-loaf pans too!

Mango and Mini-me Mango

Mango and Mini-me Mango

I took the mini-loaf out after about 45 minutes and left the regular one in for the full 1 ½ hours. Mistake. When I sliced the mango bread that night I could see/feel that the outer layer was a bit crusty. The bottom was a little burnt and you could see burnt raisins too! Which was totally okay with me because I’m not a fan of raisins and burnt raisins taste better to me than nice, juicy, plump raisins (bleah). But other than that, the bread was mighty tasty! We liked it so much that I decided to make it again the following day with the rest of the mangoes!

The second time was better because I kept a closer eye on it and this time, no burnt edges! YAY! And boy, was the second one moist! I love this recipe, you should definitely try it for yourself! I’d like to try it again without raisins and maybe add some nuts to it instead.

One slice is definitely not enough!  =)

One slice is definitely not enough! =)

Special thanks goes to Kelly of Baking with the Boys for selecting this week’s TWD recipe, Fresh Mango Bread. Please visit her website for the recipe and to see her other fabulous creations! And don’t forget to visit TWD and click on the other bloggers to see how they did with their versions of Fresh Mango Bread!

43 responses to this post.

  1. Looks beautiful, the dough was tough to mix wasn’t it?? Well done!

    Reply

  2. It looks great. I omitted the raisins due to not having any but I’m glad I did. Not a huge raisin fan. I made mini-loaves and just thought they were cute and easy to give away.

    Reply

  3. i love the two loaves–i have a real soft spot for mini breads, pies, etc.

    Reply

  4. It is true that it was difficult to mix, but the mango bread is delicious. Great job!

    Reply

  5. Wow, that is some beautiful Mango bread. Yours looks so much better than mine. I accidentally left in the oven a bit tooo long. he he but still it was moist . Couldn’t believe it.
    Great job.
    AmyRuth

    Reply

  6. Next time, go for the nuts. I think they were great with this bread. I never use oil either and mine always smells old. This time, I bought a fresh bottle, so no wierd smell. :o) Great job!

    Reply

  7. GREAT job. Looks de-lish in your photos!

    Reply

  8. I think this is the prettiest loaf I have seen (well, two loaves, with the little mini, so cute). The outside, the inside, all of it just gorgeous…that second round really must have left you breathless! What a cute plate it is sitting on…very fun. Great post…I love it when I learn things from everyone’s posts…that’s what is so nice about baking along with everyone, isn’t it? Great job on the bread.

    Reply

  9. Your bread is one of the best looking loaves I have seen so far! Nice. I like the glaze on it. I am definitely going to try this one again.

    Reply

  10. Now that is a perfect looking bread! Im glad you liked it. I left the raisins out too. I thought it would taste nasty with them!

    Reply

  11. Your loaf couldn’t look any more perfect! I’m with you on the raisins, I just left them out of mine and never looked back. Papaya for breakfast everyday would be the best!!

    Reply

  12. Looks fantastic, love the mini loaf, I really have to try this again soon so I can eat it.

    Reply

  13. I agree, I would take burnt raisins over plump ones any day!

    Reply

  14. Your bread looks very good! I like your idea of adding nuts. It sound like you like near/close to me, I’m in Orange. We go by Tom’s when we visit my MIL in Hemet.

    Reply

  15. Your bread looks great. Don’t you love how moist this bread is? I can’t believe your bread burned at 1.5 hours when mine took over two hours to bake! My oven temp. must be way off.

    Reply

  16. Your loaves look great! I have to admit that I love grating nutmeg on the microplane too. Sometimes it’s the little things!

    Reply

  17. You loaf looks so moist and yummy!

    Reply

  18. Love the mini me! A terrific job on this and glad you liked it.

    Reply

  19. Very nice looking bread and I love the mini loaf…so cute!

    Reply

  20. The mini loaf is too cute. Your loaf looks great!

    Reply

  21. Looks wonderful! My favorite thing to microplane are nutmegs. They are so cute and they smell so good.

    Reply

  22. Love the mini-me loaf! Any excuse to go to Sur La Table! 🙂 Your loaf looks great!

    Reply

  23. Hooray for new pans. Your bread looks wonderful!

    Reply

  24. Using two pans is genius–mine totally overflowed. And I’m glad that you were able to make it a second time and enjoy it. It looks perfect!

    Reply

  25. Your mango bread looks great! Aren’t mini-loaf pans nice? It makes it so much easier to give bread as little gifts, too (you get more gifts per recipe!). I need to use mine more often.

    Reply

  26. Nice job! I left out the raisins and it was great

    Reply

  27. Your mango mini loaves look absolutely delicious. Great idea to use the mini loaves.

    Reply

  28. Your loaf rose so high — it looks almost like a yeast bread. Just lovely!

    Reply

  29. I hope your oil didn’t hurt the taste of your wonderful mango bread. Once I made an entire batch of Christmas cookies with some shortning that was a tad old. Ended up having to throw them out fresh from the oven and had to start completely over!! We loved this bread. Delicious!
    And the tour of the airport control tower was great. I was pleasantly surprised. Thanks for stopping by.

    Reply

  30. Your bread looks so moist! Yum!

    Reply

  31. Your mini loaves turned out so nice! My batter went over the sides a bit.

    Reply

  32. I agree with the YAY for extra mangoes! Your mini loafs look fantastic, glad to hear this was such a hit!

    Reply

  33. Well everything looks fantastic. Your loaves look so moist – and I love how you kept the chunks of mango… mine kind of got mushy and was lost in the batter somewhere! It made a big cake/loaf though – glad you enjoyed it!

    Reply

  34. Nutmeg! Would have made it perfect for me. Next time I’ll remember nutmeg. I too thought it smelled like the holidays in the oven. I did sub some applesauce for about half the oil. I don’t like to taste the oil in my baked items.

    Your loaves look lovely!

    Reply

  35. Love your mini loaves – wish I did a mini! I bet the fresh nutmeg was great too. So glad you enjoyed this.I agree that this is a nice one to add to the spice bread rotation. Yours looks great!

    Reply

  36. Love mini me! Your loaves are beautiful – the fresh nutmeg had to make yours extra good!

    Reply

  37. Your mango bread looks better than mine with the smaller chunks! I had to cover my loaf with foil halfway through baking so it wouldn’t burn on top.

    Reply

  38. Your loaves look so beautiful! I’m glad you enjoyed this…I love trying new tea breads.

    Reply

  39. It’s picture perfect! I’ve heard so many people say they like mango. I never knew there was such a following.

    Glad you enjoyed it.

    Reply

  40. Looks yummy! 🙂 I also had a time stirring the dough until the mango softened it up soon. I agree it’s def a recipe to make again/

    Reply

  41. looks so moist! great job

    and i am jealous that you are from hawaii 🙂 i would love to live there

    Reply

  42. Your bread is so pretty! I need to get some mini-loaf pans; they’re so cute!

    Reply

  43. Once again, another delicious looking photo!

    I feel like I need to make this again . . using bananas next time. I love the texture and the simplicity of the bread.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

