Chipster-Topped Brownies

Got Milk?

Got Milk?

This week for TWD, Beth of Supplicious selected Chipster-Topped Brownies for us to try. Visit her blog to find out read about her experience picking this recipe for the group and how it turned out for her!

Holy cow, this recipe contains A LOT of chocolate! (Not to mention the amount of butter – almost a full pound!) My buddy P at work celebrates his birthday today so I thought I’d bring it to work in honor of his birthday… unfortunately I got to work and looked around my car for the container of brownies and realized I forgot it on the kitchen counter! Sheesh. Happy Birthday P! (It’s the thought that counts right? I’ll bring it in tomorrow!)

Back to the Chipster-Topped Brownies. I LOVE chocolate but I have to say, this was almost too much for me! Melting chocolate and butter over simmering water usually turns out disastrous for me, I tend to overmelt and the result is not very pretty. This time I took the chocolate away before it had all melted and stirred the chocolate and butter until it looked exactly like it was suppose to – melted, shiny, and smooth! The brownie batter turned out really well and tasted soo good! I try not to taste the batter too much – especially when raw eggs are involved but I couldn’t help myself! It was like chocolate frosting or chocolate truffles, either way, my tummy really appreciated it. =)

Note to Self: Do not use hand towels straight from the dryer when baking. (I found out that the hand towels happened to have lint on them – how did I find out? I noticed the lint in the melting chocolate/butter mixture.) O, well, my co-workers may find they have a little bit of lint/fiber with their brownies tomorrow…

The cookie batter was a breeze. It was soft enough so that I didn’t have any trouble spreading it over the brownie batter. The smell coming out of the oven was soo delicious! Brownie and chocolate chip cookie smells at the same time, it just doesn’t smell better than that I tell you!

I did have a bit of trouble trying to figure out just when it was done. I went well over the 55 minutes. The middle of the brownie had quite a few slits in it because I kept testing different parts of the brownie with my knife for doneness. I finally got what I thought was a clean knife except for a swipe of brownie goodness.

Chocolate Chip Cookie smothering Brownie layer

Chocolate Chip Cookie smothering Brownie layer

It was a little bit of trouble cutting the brownie into pieces. The cookie was crumbling, the brownie was falling apart in pieces in places. But it looked good. I sampled the cookie crumbles and the brownie pieces and they were quite tasty. I haven’t tried them together so I’m not sure about the taste. It seems like it would be really rich together and it would definitely need a tall glass of cold milk alongside it.

Care to dive right in?

Care to dive right in?

Amazingly, I’m not sure if I would bake this again. It was soo much chocolate and butter! I might bake it again if I had to bring a dessert or perhaps make a half recipe. It’s a bit much, and you know, bikini season is upon us!

Please visit the other TWD bakers and see how their brownies turned out! Or better yet, buy Dorie Greenspan’s book Baking From My Home to Yours and try it yourself!

Next Week: Cinnamon Squares
Last Week: Fresh Mango Bread

34 responses to this post.

  1. Those are huge, thick brownie and cookie layers! Yep, too rich for me, but good if you’re REALLY wanting to splurge! Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    Reply

  2. yummm! i’ve never turned down something for being too chocolatey, but I know a lot of people do. It will be nice to have a range of different desserts next month, yes? i hope your co-workers love these tomorrow!

    Reply

  3. Your brownies look wonderful, even if they are loaded with chocolate and butter! I didn’t get to make mine this week, but after reading everyone’s comments about the bake time, I’m not sure I want to take a chance. I bet your coworkers really enjoyed the treat.

    Reply

  4. I liked the components separately but not together. Perfect for pawning off on co-workers!

    Reply

  5. Ohh I hate it when I forget stuff! argh.. They look beautiful, and I am with you… Not sure I would repeat it either!

    Reply

  6. A little extra fiber with heaps of chocolate & butter is a good thing no?

    Reply

  7. This recipe was enough to try any baker’s waistline. But it was worth sampling. Love that corner photo!

    Reply

  8. Okay, got note on lint on towels not good in batter. LOL. Your brownies look wonderful…how did you get them that high??? Gorgeous. Fun post, too. My guys loved these and I will make them again, it was really very easy actually. I think Dorie and I must have the exact same oven.

    Reply

  9. These came out so pretty for you! They are yummy. Lint? What lint? No one will notice a thing and we won’t tell them.

    Reply

  10. Ya way to much butter and chocolate for this girls thighs!! I think your brownies look over the top good!

    Reply

  11. your photos are amazing! milk is a necessity with these brownies 🙂

    Reply

  12. Your brownies turned out great! A little extra fiber never hurts, right? I halved the recipe since I didn’t feel like using a ton of butter and chocolate. Plus, we didn’t need to eat that much, so half was the right amount.

    Reply

  13. Your brownies look much moister than mine. It was difficult to tell when they were done. After reading how much butter and chocolate was involved in this one, I opted for half a batch!

    Reply

  14. GREAT looking browinies, they turned out perfectly!!! Wholesome Choice is at the corner of Imperial and La Palma, it was an Albertsons. It’s on the North/East corner, I think you will like the store.

    Reply

  15. Your brownies look wonderful and your photos are amazing.
    Luckily I cut the recipe in two because these brownies are huge!

    Reply

  16. Your brownies look perfect – they look like how I was hoping mine would turn out (perfectly cooked).

    Reply

  17. Your chipster brownies look so yummy! We didnt get a chance to make them because this week was so busy but we will try to make and post them tomorrow!! We’re thinking about bringing most of the batch to work the next day cause, like you said, bikini season is right around the corner!!!

    Reply

  18. Yours look great! You actually got pretty well-defined cookie/brownie layers. YUM! I hope Pat likes the brownies tomorrow.

    Reply

  19. Yours are super chunky! WOW! What nice results!

    Hopefully, your coworkers need enriched fiber dietary supplements!!! LOL LOL

    Well done!

    Reply

  20. I also thought this was a bit much, I had to halve the recipe because it was just too much butter to use. I sure am glad I did since I ended up throwing most of the rawness away. Yours look like they fared much better than mine.

    Reply

  21. I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t make this one again. Yours turned out well, so I feel encouraged that it’s possible for it to be successful, but I agree the mountain of chocolate and almost a pound of butter doom it unless it’s fall-over good, which it wasn’t.

    Reply

  22. They look fantastic! Yeah, it’s probably best to not repeat recipes that involve almost an entire pound of butter. I’m sure your co-workers will love them, despite the lint. Oh, I think yours have been the first I’ve seen with nuts.

    Reply

  23. This is the type of recipe that is meant for only special occasions. Too many of these left laying around the kitchen and I won’t be able to get out the door! They look wonderful!

    Reply

  24. LOL – a little extra fibre never hurt anyone. These look smashing – so thick and rich.

    Reply

  25. Your crownies look fantastic. Can I have one? These definitely tasted best with a nice big glass of milk.

    Reply

  26. HELLLLOOOO, I want to dive right in, right now. That looks SOOOOOOOOOOOO good.

    Reply

  27. Great chipster brownies! If I didn’t know there was so much butter in them, I would have enjoyed them more. Best thing to do is to serve them to unsuspecting husbands-butter means nothing to them, apparently!

    Reply

  28. This was one of my favorite “raw” tests too :)….
    M

    Reply

  29. beautiful brownies! I’m sure your friend will enjoy them as a birthday treat!

    Reply

  30. Your pictures look great — seems like the key was baking these much longer than recommended. I’ve become convinced the breaking cookie layer is why there is no picture of these in Dorie’s book.

    I’ve been calculating the calories on TWD recipes since I got “lose it” on my iPod, but I just couldn’t bring myself to do that with this recipe! They sure were tasty though.

    Reply

  31. These look decadently delicious! And you’re right about the milk. They definitely need that tall glass of milk! Nice job!

    Reply

  32. Your layers stayed so lovely and defined! Great job!

    Reply

  33. Perfect layers of cookie/brownie! I’m jealous, mine didn’t look nearly as nice!

    Reply

  34. Woah!!! Your layers are perfect! And not a hint of lint to be found 🙂 hahah! They look great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

