Parisian Apple and Banana Tartlet

Parisian Banana Tartlet

Parisian Banana Tartlet

This week Jessica of My Baking Heart selected Dorie’s Parisian Apple Tartlet for us TWD bakers to try out. Can you believe it took over a year for her turn to come up? Please visit Jessica and see the terrific Parisian Apple/Plum/Peach Tartlets that she made! I have Puff Pastry envy because her tartlets have really puffed pastry! Jessica also has the recipe noted on her blog so be sure to give it a try – you’ll love it too!

I loved this recipe for its simplicity! I have very minimal experience working with Puff Pastry so I was going to buy the all butter puff pastry from Trader Joe’s that Fit Chick shared with us in the Recipes for June TWD entry. In the Parisian Apple Tartlet P&Qs a lot of the TWD bakers mentioned making their puff pastry from scratch – soo awesome. Hopefully one day I’ll be able to do that myself. For now, Artisan Puff Pastry from Trader Joe’s will suffice. (I couldn’t find any of the Dufour Pastry that Dorie mentioned.)

I bought my fruit at the last minute so the only fruit that was ready to use was the Fuji apple. My Anjou pear and white peach are still under wraps, trying to ripen. I also bought a couple bananas because a banana tartlet was calling my name!

Since I have little experience with puff pastry, I kind of flubbed it. I let the pastry out to thaw a bit because I couldn’t pull the 2 sheets apart. Well, I let them thaw a little too much. I used a glass cup to cut out my 4″ circles (it was just shy of 4″) and it was difficult to pull the circles out because the dough was very sticky. I put it in the refrigerator for a few minutes and then worked with them. I should have let them stay in there for a lot longer but it was already past my bedtime.

I used 1/2 of the Fuji apple for one tartlet and 1/2 of a banana for the other tartlet. I sprinkled them both with cinnamon, nutmeg, and brown sugar. Sprinkled a few bits of butter on top and let it bake for 25 minutes.

Thank goodness for silpat mats! The brown sugar melted all over the silpat mat and by the time I took the tartlets out of the oven, the melted brown sugar on the silpat mat was dark and turned hard once cooled. I ate a piece thinking it would be like caramel candy, HAH! Guess again. Bleah.

A little bit puffed pastry vs very flat puff pastry...

A little bit puffed pastry vs very flat puff pastry...

I tried half of the apple tartlet and really liked the flavor of it. You can tell the puff pastry was too warm when it went in the oven because it kind of didn’t puff. The banana tartlet puffed a little bit and looked nicer too. I love bananas! Top it with some melted brown sugar (not burnt!), cinnamon, and nutmeg – boy, did it taste yummy! Wish I had some ice cream to go with it! And speaking of ice cream…

Next Week: Honey-Peach Ice Cream
Last Week: Cinnamon Squares

29 responses to this post.

  1. Hummmm… how interesting! How different! …and how unparisian!!! LOL I’m sure the banana one was quite tasty… but that you’ll never find any in Paris, so… Shhhhhh… keep it a secret, that’ll make more banana tartlets for us! LOL Well done and very appetizing!

    Reply

  2. Looks great. I bet the banana one was tasty. I tried to get puff pastry at TJ’s but they decided to stop selling it at mine and will now only carry it seasonally. I had to get the pepperidge farms puff pastry. You’ll have to let me know how the peach and pear turn out. I thought the peach one was the best. I also tried to eat a piece of the burned sugar and had the same reaction. Ugh. Best of luck with your next batch.

    Reply

  3. Bananas! I would not have thought of doing bananas. I may have to try that with some chocolate sometime.

    Reply

  4. what a clever idea to use bananas! your tarts are so pretty! mine didn’t puff much either…oh well. they’re still delicious:)

    Reply

  5. Wow! What a great idea to use bananas!
    I loved this recipe for its simplicity and versatility.
    Looks really delicious!

    Reply

  6. Oh yummy I would never have thought of putting banana in these! I bet that was really good. But I loved the apple so much I might always make them with apple. You can never tell about me.
    Thanks for your sweet comments about Laura’s dress, etc. We thought she looked cute!

    Reply

  7. Bananas huh? Wow…never thought of that but I bet it was great. Ok-we bought the same pastry dough and I had the same issues—I let it thaw too long and had a hard time working with it. The pepperridge farm stuff is a bit stiffer. Next time I will take your hint of putting it in the fridge. But–one other thing that I might have done–is twist the cookie cutter–that inhibits rising too. I learned that on the food network πŸ˜‰ Anyway! It was great regardless and it looks like you enjoyed yours too!

    Reply

  8. This is what I love about visiting the blogs each week…the things you learn…the creative bits…the subs…the choices! I am not a creative person, if Dorie says use and apple, I use an apple, do it exactly the way she says…it is people like you who are so inspiring that come up with things like BANANA tarts with brown sugar and butter and O MY maybe I should go to the store for a banana or two right now. Right. Now. Great idea you had. It oozed all over my silpat also, some was very nice and light colored and tasty, the other was dark brown and discard material. Nice post

    Reply

  9. Bananas! What a great idea. They look fantastic!

    Reply

  10. mmmm so golden and caramel-y

    Reply

  11. Your tartlets look great! Banana was such a good idea – bananas with brown sugar are so tasty.

    Reply

  12. I really wanted to try bananas too! I am so glad you did so I can see it would work now. Really great idea!

    Reply

  13. OMG you made banana. You are so uber cool.

    Reply

  14. Ooh, bananas, they look so yummy! And I don’t know how I got my TJ’s pastry to puff. I thought my tartlets were maybe a tiny overcooked, so maybe that’s it. I can’t wait to try making puff pastry too, it sounds like fun.

    Reply

  15. Yum! I like both tarts – they look great. The banans would have been ideal because they are not as heavy as the apple.

    Reply

  16. Mmm banana. Maybe chocolate banana tartlets? You’re giving me good ideas. Your tarts look delicious.

    Reply

  17. I love that you used bananas! Great idea!

    Reply

  18. I agree with the crowd – banana tartlet makes you Cool Girl of the week! Well done.

    Reply

  19. Love the banana tartlets: caramelized banana’s, how could a girl say no to that??

    Reply

  20. Posted by mbcamp on June 10, 2009 at 6:09 am

    You’re brilliant to use bananas! They look delish! I saw that The Food Librarian used some fresh pineapple…I’ll have to try that, too. I still have one piece of puff pastry left, so I plan to re-do the Parisian Fruit Tarts just as soon as I get a new camera (hopefully this weekend!). Thanks for visiting my site…hopefully by Saturday night, I’ll have something new to report.

    Reply

  21. Sorry…that last post from me (the one that says mbcamp) was me. I was helping a friend yesterday (giving a little blog tutorial), and forgot to log out of her blog!

    Reply

  22. love the idea of banana and brown sugar combo. Sorry the puff gave you trouble!

    Reply

  23. OMG! I LOVE bananas! What a fun idea. I WILL try bananas like that someday!

    Reply

  24. Oooo bananas! I bet that was amazing with the melty brown sugar!

    Not sure if this will help you but I always cut my puff pastry with a sharp knife, which minimizes the compression of the edge of the pastry, so it rises a lot more.

    Reply

  25. Great combination of apples and bananas! I’m sure they were wonderful. I’ll have to work on my puff pastry skills of, lack thereof.

    Reply

  26. Brilliant using bananas! I love your blog.

    Reply

  27. Don’t know why, but I never even thought of using bananas. After seeing your post, though, bananas are the fruit I want to use next. Great idea and pretty pictures!

    Reply

  28. Bananas are an excellent idea, I have visions of a Bananas Foster-esque desssert. Yum!

    Reply

  29. So sorry I didn’t get to your blog last week – just wanted to thank you for baking along with me! I’m glad you liked them! And that you tried it again – a white peach sounds yummy!! πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

