Spicy Sauteed Fish with Olives and Cherry Tomatoes

Tilapia covered with olives and cherry tomatoes

Tilapia covered with olives and cherry tomatoes

I made this dish for the first time last Friday.  I don’t know why but I always forget to take photos of food that I cook vs food that I bake!  I brought orange roughy fillets to the beau’s house on Friday night.  I didn’t know how I was going to prepare them so I browsed epicurious.com and found the recipe Spicy Sauteed Fish with Olives and Cherry Tomatoes.  Actually, the beau and I were browsing and looking for a recipe where we had the ingredients already and this is the first one that did.  He didn’t have cherry tomatoes, just regular tomatoes.  And he had kalamata olives which is one of the main ingredients.  We only needed olive oil, garlic, fresh parsley, and red pepper flakes.  We only had dried parsley flakes also.  It was so easy to make and the result was incredibly tasty!

For dessert I tried Parisian Tartlet partie deux (part two).  I picked up Pepperidge Farm Puff Pastry and used a white peach for the tartlet.  I had a green d’Anjou pear but it’s still a bit firm.  The white peach was a little weird, I wasn’t able to get the pit out when I slice it in half!  (I didn’t use all of the peach so we ate the rest, and noticed that it tasted more like a nectarine than a peach, more weirdness.)  I had to use a paring knife to cut the pit out!  And the pit had split in half when I split the peach in half.  Weird.  Part two is a ‘shared’ retry:  I copied one of the TWD bakers and melted the butter and brown sugar together, then I brushed it on the puff pastry; then I sliced the peach and placed them on top; and brushed them with the butter/brown sugar glaze.

Prior to going into the oven...

Prior to going into the oven...

This baked for about 18 minutes.  I believe the beau’s oven is a lot more efficient and newer than mine which came with the condo when I purchased it in 1996 and so is probably very low end.  I took a peek about midway to check on the puff pastry.  Well, it puffed a whole lot more than the one I made with the TJ puff pastry.  Not sure why.  I happened to also follow the advice of Leslie from Lethally Delicious, unknowingly.  I don’t have a 4″ cookie cutter so I used a Japanese rice bowl for my cutter.  Except it didn’t exactly cut through the pastry all the way.  I had to use a paring knife to cut around the edges.  Which is the advice Leslie shared with me, to cut the puff pastry with a sharp knife!  The glaze seeped out the edge of the puff pastries but I brushed most of it back onto the pastry.

Parisian Peach Tartlet - Oo, la, la!

Parisian Peach Tartlet - Oo, la, la!

The beau enjoyed this dessert, although he wished the puff pastry was a little thicker in the middle because his cracked in half while he was eating it.  I LOVED this and plan to do this again and again with different variations of fruit fillers!  The puff pastry was so nice, crisp, and flakey, unlike my original version which was much more softer and chewier.  Visit Jessica from My Baking Heart for this recipe and try it ASAP, you won’t regret it!

One response to this post.

  1. I love simple fish like this! And your tart looks fantastic. I think you are getting the puff pastry thing down now. It looks much better than the grapefruit slices I am about to eat for breakfast 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

