Honey Peach Ice Cream

A bowl of some peachy-keen ice cream!

A bowl of some peachy-keen ice cream!

This week Tommi of Brown Interior selected Dorie’s Honey Peach Ice Cream for us to try. You can get the recipe from Tommi or go ahead and buy Dorie’s book Baking from my Home to Yours – you won’t regret it! To see what other creations and variations were made with this recipe, check out all the TWD blogs!

I bought my ice cream maker a couple years ago and last night was the first time I used it! (And during those two years, the bowl of the ice cream maker has been sitting in my freezer just waiting to be used.)

I used white peaches. I don’t have a scale at home so I ended up using 5 peaches hoping that would be enough since they were on the smallish side. I’m afraid of my peeler. My mom gave it to me years ago and she raved that it was the sharpest peeler ever! Well, I believe it – it’s so sharp it can trim your fingernails for you as you’re peeling whatever it is you’re peeling. Which is why I’m afraid of my peeler. Don’t ask me why I haven’t gone to pick up an OXO one like the beau, which is much friendlier. So, it took me a while to get the peaches peeled, pitted, and chopped. And I now have shorter nails. (Don’t worry – they didn’t end up in the ice cream!) My honey bear was quite empty so I ended up using much less than a quarter cup of honey. Didn’t matter in the end.

I still need to hone my custard skills. It doesn’t help that I don’t have an instant thermometer at home either. Can anyone reference a good one? The last one I bought didn’t seem to help me any when I used it for the Extraordinary Lemon Tart. I think it read 140 and that was all it was going to do. For this custard, I thought I’d follow the recipe where it says when you drag your finger down the spoon, the custard won’t fill in. Well, the custard was looking really, really nice and the spoon test worked well. I don’t know how, but in the matter of a split second, it went from looking nice and smooth to a bit curdled! After mixing in the vanilla and the peach puree, it still looked a little off. But in the P&Qs, Cakelaw from Laws of the Kitchen said it would turn out fine in the ice cream churner. And it did! Since I made this last night, I didn’t get a chance to taste the final result. I took the pictures this morning and dumped the ice cream back into the container before I headed off to work. From what I tasted last night, it was pretty sweet and very peachy! I can hardly wait to have some for dessert tonight!

Looks like a lot for one serving doesn't it?  =)

Looks like a lot for one serving doesn't it? =)


Last Week: Parisian Apple Tartlet
Next Week: Coconut-Roasted Pineapple Dacquoise

33 responses to this post.

  1. It looks good. I think that is the perfect serving size. I’ve had my ice cream maker for a few years and can’t say I’ve used it that much. Wish I had room in the freezer for the bowl. Great job.

    Reply

  2. Funny that we both took pictures this morning and put the ice cream back. We strong! 😉 Your nice bowl of ice cream looks great to me!

    Reply

  3. Mine curdled the first time too. Custard hates me. Your ice cream looks lovely. Enjoy!

    Reply

  4. That looks good TO me! Awesome job!

    Save some for me, too! 😉

    Reply

  5. I hope you start using your ice cream maker now – this looks like it turned out great! I always get my fingernails with the peeler too. I hate that.

    Reply

  6. It looks great! Sweet and peachy is a great combination!

    I use a Thermapen (highly recommended by Cook’s Illustrated), but have also use the Culinary Institute of America’s instant read thermometer (which I gave to a friend when I got my Thermapen.) The Thermapen is a bit of an investment (it’s about $80 at Amazon) but the CIA thermometer is only $15 and works great.

    You can also tell when your custard is getting ready if you dip a spoon in it and drag your finger across the back and your finger leaves a trail in the custard.

    Reply

  7. You are so funny about buying the maker, putting the bowl in the freezer, and then waiting two years! Well, whatever the reason, this batch turned out perfect. I did the spoon test, too, on the custard and it was perfect…didn’t even bother to take the temperature. Your ice cream and photo look great, I kept running around trying to get a good photo and my ice cream started melting…LOL, oh, well, it tasted just fine! Love your serving dish, really pretty with the ice cream.

    Reply

  8. I’m so glad it turned out well – it looks delicious.

    Reply

  9. I’m glad that you finally got to use your ice cream maker! The ice cream looks wonderful — enjoy it tonight!

    Reply

  10. Looks delicious! Glad that it all worked out once you put it in the ice cream maker–and glad you finally got to break in the machine.

    Reply

  11. I hope you end up liking this… for it looks pretty nice from here! LOL

    As for the thermometer, any digital one between $10 to $15 will do fine. No need to spend a crazy amount on that (make sure to get a digital though – a meat one will work fine for all the rest too, as long as it can go as high as 400°, for candies’ hard ball stage and deep frying!). Custard is really the last thing you need a thermometer for, just practice the finger on the back of a wooden spoon trick… works just fine whe you get the hang of it! For candies or things like buttercream, sabayon, etc… better use one though.

    Reply

  12. Your ice cream looks great, this was so good!

    Reply

  13. The thermapen is probably the best and most accurate; it’s what they use in restaurants. Your ice cream looks delicious, I hope you enjoy it.

    Reply

  14. Well, at least you know your freezer bowl was nice and cold and ready to work for you! Hope you enjoyed this luscious little treat!

    Reply

  15. About the serving size…you can never have too much ice cream. As my late grandfather always said, “You always have room for ice cream! It just melts down and fills in the cracks!” I like that philosophy. I’m glad you used your ice cream maker! I used my MIL’s old-fashioned one. I spent an afternoon layering ice and rock salt, then babysitting the machine on the front porch. It was totally worth it!

    Reply

  16. funny about the peeler!! i think if you search my blog you’ll see the dig. therm. i recommend – it was $20 at bed bath & beyond and i use it for everything, including meat and candy! love it.

    Reply

  17. Looks super-yummy. I say just keep practicing making custard, sounds like your ice cream maker has been neglected too long! I have a mandoline that I’m totally afraid of, so I understand your peeler fear.

    Reply

  18. I think your ice cream looks great!

    Reply

  19. I had the same problem for one of the other recipes with the thermometer. I was using an instant thermometer for meat and that seemed to not work. I actually got a candy thermometer that works a bit better. But really as soon as the back of the spoon is coated is probably good enough.

    Reply

  20. Love the story. Your ice cream looks so luscious! Great job!

    Reply

  21. Your ice cream looks perfect. I love white peaches – they are special. Your ice cream freezer will probably become a favorite this summer. I really enjoy mine. Thanks for visiting my blog. Keep baking! lola

    Reply

  22. This looks and sounds yummy!

    Eek! I’m afraid of my peeler too! LOL

    Reply

  23. I’m always a little nervous with custards. I don’t have much practice! Your white peach ice cream is pretty!

    Reply

  24. I don’t know how you managed to put that ice cream in the freezer and walk away…. 🙂
    I love your use of white peaches in the ice cream. Now that you’ve used your ice cream maker, you’ll have to dive into all the wonderful ice cream recipes floating around. They are such a cinch with the ice cream maker. I like your bowl in the pictures!

    Reply

  25. Aww, sorry about your custard woes. I do like the sound of white peaches though.

    Reply

  26. Your icecream turned out great! I love your pretty blue and white bowl – I have to say that my presentation of the end product was pretty lacklustre. Oh well, next time!

    Reply

  27. I could easily manage that nice large serving. Right now I’m wishing I could have a few scoops for an after supper dessert.

    Reply

  28. All right! A reason to break out the ice cream maker!

    Your ice cream looks delish 🙂

    Reply

  29. Cracks me up that your bowl was in the freezer for 2 years! Glad it finally got to see the light of day!

    Reply

  30. I love your bowl ! (eapecially filled with ice cream !!) I have a dangerous peeler too !!

    Reply

  31. This turned out great and now you’ll be on a roll, using that ice cream maker every week! I never buy ice cream anymore. I’m also impressed with your willpower in walking away from it! Delayed gratification!! I’m sure it was worth the wait!! It looks just beautiful.

    Reply

  32. You have amazing self control. As soon as my ice creams are finished churning I have a spoon in them 🙂

    Reply

  33. I’m glad your ice cream worked out in the end. I hope you enjoy it once you get to eat some.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

