Coconut Roasted Pineapple Dacquoise

You put the pineapple in the coconut and you eat it all up!

You put the pineapple in the coconut and you eat it all up!


This week Andrea of Andrea in the Kitchen selected Dorie’s Coconut Roasted Pineapple Dacquoise. Quite a mouthful. Please visit Andrea in the Kitchen to see how it came out for her – all the way in Australia! You can also get the recipe on her site.

I was very ambivalent about baking this. Not a fan of coconut and the beau who is a fan of coconut is out of town this week. I do my baking usually over the weekend but the beau’s family was in town and there wasn’t any time for it.

I took a day off from work yesterday and got all the ingredients together. I was one of those that did not read the recipe thoroughly. I did know the meringue would take 3 hours to bake but I didn’t realize that it would have to be chilled for 4-6 hours prior to serving.

Things did not start out well. I went to get my parchment paper and found out that I had left it at the beau’s house. I didn’t feel like going out to the grocery store yet again so I googled a good substitute and ended up using well greased foil. Then I put all the ingredients in the food processor for the coconut mixture and found out that the cornstarch was also at the beau’s house. Sheesh. Googled a substitute for that too. I was wondering what else would I forget? Thank goodness for Google!

I had a rough time separating the egg whites for whatever reason. I had the 3 egg whites from last week’s Honey Peach Ice Cream and cracked 5 more eggs. When I cracked 3 of those eggs, the yolks cracked with it so that some of the yolk ended up in the egg whites. I had to spoon the yolk out so I think I was a wee bit short on the egg whites. It was the strangest thing. And of course when it came time to spread the meringue in our rectangles, the third item still at the beau’s house is my one and only offset spatula.

3 hours later, the meringue was done. I was hoping they wouldn’t stick to the foil but I had to let them cool before I would find out. The white chocolate ganache was easy. I used 7 oz of Lindt white chocolate (the only brand I could find in all 3 grocery stores) and 7 oz of Lindt coconut white chocolate. I figured if I was going to go coconut, might as well go all out.

Kind of goofy, jack-o'-lantern looking...

Kind of goofy, jack-o'-lantern looking...

Everything was done last night except for the assembly. And since I was at home alone and the beau was gone for the week, I was planning on bringing it to work. So I wasn’t able to assemble it last night. I was afraid it would get soggy by the time I got it to work today. So this morning I assembled it and a strange thing happened. I tasted the white coconut chocolate ganache and well, liked it! I also tasted the toasted coconut and the same thing happened! How strange is that since I don’t even like coconut!

The final product looked okay. I kind of sliced the pineapple too thin so it doesn’t look very juicy at all, looks more like dried pineapple. And I didn’t have even sides to I wasn’t able to frost the sides with the ganache, I kind of globbed it on. I won’t be able to get a picture of a slice of it since I’m taking it to work and cameras are a big no-no. I have a feeling I’m really going to like this one!

UPDATE: I brought it to work after lunch and passed it out to some co-workers (there isn’t enough for everyone!). I tried it first and loved it! I can’t believe I love a coconut dessert but I do and I want to try this one again for my family. The co-workers enjoyed it very much too! One of my co-workers thought I should sell them like at work like a bake sale and make money! HAH!

Last Week: Honey Peach Ice Cream
Next Week: Perfect Party Cake

16 responses to this post.

  1. Your ganache looks like it turned out really well. That was the hardest part for me–it turned out way too thin. It’s too bad your beau wasn’t around. I’m sure he would have enjoyed this one.

    Reply

  2. great to see you got a pleasant surprise. Thanks for baking with me this week.

    Reply

  3. Your dacquoise turned out well, despite all the backgrounds issues. A shame you couldn’t get kudos from the beau – oh well, I bet your workmates loved it.

    Reply

  4. I think your dacquoise looks great and I hope you enjoy eating it.

    Reply

  5. What a great post! I’m so glad you were able to find substitutes for all of the things you didn’t have on hand (Google is amazing!) Your dacquoise looks fantastic!

    Reply

  6. sorry it was hard to make but it seems you made do just fine!

    your meringue will come out better if you start over w/the whites if you get some yolk in them. even a teeny tiny amount of yolk in your whites will result in a less than ideal meringue

    thank you also for the kind words you left on my blog

    Reply

  7. The dacquoise looks fantastic, it seems your substitutions worked beautifully! Glad you and your co-workers enjoyed it.

    Reply

  8. Way to go on a recipe that I thought seemed a little too involved for me. It looks great. Seriously, you rock!

    Reply

  9. It seems like lots of people were a bit scattered and distracted while making this week’s dessert. I hate realizing I am out of something mid-recipe; you had great solutions to avoid making a special trip to the store.

    Reply

  10. It’s beautiful! I am not surprised you and your co-workers enjoyed your cake.

    Reply

  11. Glad this one had you liking coconut!

    Reply

  12. I am so glad you ended up liking it! And I am happy to know that greased foil subs for parchment paper! I hate running out!

    Reply

  13. So glad you and your co-workers liked it!

    Reply

  14. I’ve had those baking days were it seems that everything goes wrong. But it turned out so well, looks great! Here’s to easier baking days ahead!

    Reply

  15. Awesome! There’s nothing better than when you end up loving a dessert you thought you wouldn’t…. plus bonus points for impressing the co-workers.

    Reply

  16. Your dacquoise looks lovely – even if it is sporting an almost jack-o-lantern look 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

