Perfect Party Cake!

It sure does look pretty!

It sure does look pretty!


This week Carol of mix, mix…stir, stir selected Dorie Greenspan’s Perfect Party Cake for the TWD bakers to try. You must visit Carol at mix, mix…stir, stir because her blog has the most gorgeous photos! You can also get the recipe there and see how beautiful her Perfect Party Cake turned out! Really beautiful. Please visit the TWD site and click on the blogs on the sidebar to see how the other TWD bakers fared with their Perfect Party Cakes – I’m sure you’ll be amazed!

I had high hopes for this cake because I love anything lemon! (and chocolate…) I had extra large eggs where the recipe called for large eggs. I wasn’t sure if that would cause a problem or not so I went back to Google to see how many ounces each egg contained of egg whites. I got 2 answers, 1 egg contains ~ 1 ounce of egg whites or ~ 1.25 ounces of egg white. So I figured I would need either 4 or 5 ounces total. I received a helpful hint from Jaime of GOOD EATS ‘n sweet treats in regards to separating egg whites. Last week I had problems separating the egg whites and had some yolk fall into it which I spooned out. She advised it would turn out better to keep the whites totally separate from the yolks – no contamination from the yolks. So this time, I separated the egg whites in a separate dish before putting them together in the measuring glass. And after 3 extra large eggs, I had 5 ounces of egg whites. So I went with that.

Mixing the cake batter was no problem, except for forgetting Dorie’s helpful hints about having the buttermilk and the egg whites at room temperature. I had her helpful hints printed out and my grocery list noted on it which I took to the grocery store with me. When I got home from the grocery store, I didn’t have my helpful hints anymore. I started the cake batter and went online to check out the helpful hints. Oops. Had to wait for those items to get to room temperature. I have to say, I LOVE zest mixed with sugar! It smells so good, especially with lemon! The cake batter tasted really, really, really good!

After 25 minutes the cake looked done but I wasn’t completely convinced. I took it out after a few minutes and I think it was a few minutes too late. The sides of the cake have come away and looked a little burnt. And the cake didn’t rise that much at all. I was soo disappointed because it had looked Perfect going in! I wasn’t sure if I was going to slice these in half since they were so thin but I forged ahead.

I was a little hesitant about making the butter cream frosting after reading the P&Qs. I’ve never made butter cream frosting before and 3 sticks of butter is quite a lot of butter for frosting! After whisking the egg whites and sugar over simmering water for 3 minutes, it did not look like shiny marshmallow cream. I had to whisk it quite a bit longer to get there and my arm was hurting. (HAH! I’m such a wimp.) I was super encouraged when I got the marshmallow cream texture and it looked really nice after mixing it for 5 minutes after that. When I was done adding everything in and mixing for an additional 10 minutes I wasn’t sure if the texture was correct. I thought it looked pretty but was it ‘shiny, smooth, velvety, pristine’? Hmm. I don’t know, but I sure liked the taste of it!

I assemble the cake and 2/3 cup of raspberry preserves didn’t seem like enough so I used it sparingly and made it work. Unfortunately I wasn’t paying attention and only 1 of the layers has the raspberry preserve/butter cream middle. I accidentally put the 3rd layer on top of the second layer without putting butter cream on the second layer. Rats! O, well.

I took the cake to work this morning. I’m waiting for it to get to room temperature before serving it. I’m hoping to bring home a slice for the beau and so I can take a picture of a slice too. Sorry for the sorry pictures, I forgot my camera and had to use my cell phone!

I definitely plan on making this one again. The cake batter is so tasty I just can’t resist. Plus I’d like to have the cake rise like it’s suppose to so I’ll keep trying!

UPDATE: We just had the cake at work and I absolutely LOVE the flavor of this cake! I definitely plan on making this again, after all practice makes a Perfect Party Cake! I saved a piece to take home for the beau too!

Last Week: Coconut-Roasted Pineapple Dacquoise
Next Week: Katherine Hepburn Brownies

24 responses to this post.

  1. Your cake looks beautiful and I’m glad to hear you enjoyed it. It’s funny, I had just bought extra large eggs, then I noticed that this cake called for large and I was lucky I had exactly two large eggs left from the last batch (I only made half the cake); but that’s a helpful tip for next time. And my arm hurt from whisking too, especially since I ended up having to make a second batch of icing.

    Reply

  2. Thanks to you and your co-worker hihi!
    We really enjoyed this cake too and agree that the cake butter was VERY yummy. We love lemon too! =) What did you think about the buttercream? We’re not sure if we would use it again. It was delicious when it was first made, but then the next days, after it sat in the fridge, we weren’t too crazy about it!
    Thanks for always stopping by!

    Reply

  3. Your cake looks gorgeous. I thought it was really delicious too. I loved the batter. I kept on sneaking tastes until I got a tummy ache, but so worth it.

    Reply

  4. nice job! it’s a good cake isn’t it? try it with fresh fruit 🙂

    Reply

  5. Your cake does look b e a u t i f u l!! Great job. I loved it and with self preservation in mind, I shared mine too. he he I am looking forward to giving it a go again as well. Thanks for stopping by.
    AmyRuth

    Reply

  6. Wow! Your cake looks fabulous! Nice job!

    Reply

  7. Very elegant on that white plate in all it’s white fluffy glory there. I agree, the flavor of this cake batter is really good and it bakes up nicely, am sure this is my new favorite vanilla lemon cake as I can’t think of another I like better than this. The icing, however, was a bit much…way way too much butter. I have a nice buttercream recipe that only takes 1/3 cup of butter and it is wonderful, so I’ll stick with that one. Great thing about this cake is that it has lots and lots of possibilities for changing it up a bit here and there. Yours is gorgeous!

    Reply

  8. This cake was really a lot of work, with so many things that could go wrong. Yours looks lovely and your co-workers enjoyed it and that’s really what’s important. And you got a great story to tell. Well done!

    Reply

  9. Woah! You should apply to be Dorie’s next pastry helper for her future publications!!! Just like in the book! WOW… are you sure you’re not a relative of hers??? LOL LOL hummm… or perhaps she’s been giving you secret tips, huh?

    It looks divine… soft as a cloud!

    Reply

  10. You wrote so many things that happened to me! Neat how we all run into the same thing. As a creature of some good habits, I had my eggs, milk, and butter going to room temperature, but everything else was just not going in sync for me. It was the first time I made that type of buttercream. I liked it, but I used meringue powder, so I was not sure if it would turn out. To me, mine did not look all that pristine either, or very white! But I remembered I would be covering it up with coconut flakes, so I was okay with it.
    Your cake looks stunning. Really. No one would know, including me, that it gave you any problems at all!

    Reply

  11. Your cake looks fabulous! What a huge success! I’m so glad it was well-received at work and you were able to salvage a slice to take home.

    Reply

  12. Your cake turned out great! We really love this cake.
    I was going to post the recipe I made up for the raspberry filling but didn’t have time.
    I basically just pureed some frozen raspberries (I thawed them first) with a little sugar and water to taste and then heated that mixture with 1/2 cup of raspberry preserves. It just made for a less-sweet filling that with more raspberry flavor.
    Yum!

    Reply

  13. Glad you liked it. How nice of you to share with your coworkers!

    Reply

  14. Your cake certainly looks picture perfect! Glad after all your work that you loved it!

    Reply

  15. Looks lovely!! I’m glad you and your co-workers enjoyed the cake. I love lemon, too. This cake was just so simple and delicious. It is definitely a keeper.

    Reply

  16. What a beautiful white, fluffy cake! I’m so pleased you enjoyed it. I’m crazy about White Cakes now – they really are elegant.

    Reply

  17. Your cake looks great! I should have looked at Dorie’s helpful hints–I forgot all about them. I’ll have to remember for the next time. I love lemon-flavored desserts too, and this one was amazing.

    Reply

  18. You’re right! It sure does look pretty! I love lemon, but used vanilla in the cake for the extract since I didn’t have lemon. Next time!

    Reply

  19. Glad you liked it! It looks lovely

    Reply

  20. I am so glad you liked the cake, it looks lovely. Congratulations on making your first buttercream too! It’s good stuff. Another egg separating tip if you haven’t come across this one, it’s easier to separate eggs when they are cold. Thanks for baking along with me this week.

    Reply

  21. Glad you liked this one. I will definitely make the full cake when I have occasion for a huge layer cake. The lemony flavor was delicious!

    Reply

  22. Looks great! I ended up one-and-a-halfing my cake batter because so many people complained of theirs not rising much–and I was glad I did, because it seemed like the right amount. So I’d say the problem is the recipe, but I’m glad that yours worked out anyhow and tasted so great!

    Reply

  23. Fabulous job LA. I didn’t remember Dorie’s tips wither, but hey, it all turned out in the wash, and my colleagues loved it too.

    Reply

  24. I always go by 1 large egg white = 30 grams / 1.05 oz. (And one large whole egg = 50 grams / 1.75 oz.) Those are from Rose Levy Beranbaum’s “The Cake Bible.” (I usually buy medium eggs, so I actually have the gram weights memorized!)

    Lovely cake!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

