Brioche Plum Tart

Looks a little brown at the edges, but plummy goodness in the middle!

Looks a little brown at the edges, but plummy goodness in the middle!


This week Denise of Chez Us selected Dorie’s Brioche Plum Tart recipe for our TWD adventure. Please visit Denise at Chez Us to see how beautiful her Brioche Plum Tart turned out and to get the recipe . Better yet, buy Dorie’s book – it’s a definite keeper with soo many fantastic recipes!

Brioche Plum Tart was quite the challenge for me. It was the first time for me to bake with yeast and to bake a brioche. In fact, I’ve never tasted brioche before either!

I found pluots at the market. I’ve never tried those either but they looked more ripe than the regular plums so I bought 3 larger pluots (Black Cherry) and 3 smaller pluots (Crimson something or other).

Making the dough was quite an experience. The first step was to mix the milk and yeast together until the yeast dissolved. Well, when I started mixing the two together what I got was not dissolved yeast but a clump of yeast. Yipes. I kept stirring and smushing the yeast to help it dissolve until it finally did. (Does it make a difference if it was forcibly dissolved?)

I’m in the minority; I prefer to use my hand mixer vs. my Kitchen Aid. But since I needed the dough hook and my hand mixer doesn’t come supplied with one I turned to my Kitchen Aid. It was neat seeing the dough come together with the dough hook. This dough would not stop rising though! I slapped it down with a rubber spatula every 30 minutes for 2 hours per the instructions. It looked like it had settled down a bit. I left it in the refrigerator overnight and the next morning I had to slap it down a bit more then shaped it into my ceramic pie dish. I can’t imagine using my tart pan; the dough would have spilt over all over.

I found Knott’s Plum Jam at Stater Brothers so spread that over the bottom of the dough. I sliced the pluots which were soo juicy, the juice was running all over the cutting board. They weren’t overripe, just really juicy. I ended up using all 3 of the larger pluots and only 1 of the smaller ones. Next time I plan to slice them into smaller pieces instead of quartering them, maybe I’ll be able to fit more in or maybe not since the end result was rather soupy with the juices.

You mix 3 T of sugar with 2 T of chopped walnuts. I thought 3 T of sugar was a small amount and the same with the chopped walnuts. I ended up with 3 T of sugar and almost 3 T of chopped walnuts. It looked like a small amount but it blanketed the plum tart really well as you can see here:

And I thought 3 T of sugar wouldn't amount to much...

And I thought 3 T of sugar wouldn't amount to much...

From the P&Qs, it looked like the tart needed to be tented a little earlier than the 20 minutes suggested so I kept an eye on it and tented it after 10 minutes. This might have been my problem because I took it out after 30 minutes total and the brioche sounded hollow when tapped. But I noticed that the inner sides of the brioche and the middle looked a little under baked. It went back in the oven and the brioche ended up getting a bit too brown after all. O, well.

The beau took this treat to work and informed me later that morning that it was a bit soupy! I couldn’t believe it. It didn’t look soupy out of the oven. I didn’t get a taste of it so I fully intend to try this again because it looked and smelled so delicious. The beau especially liked the addition of the chopped walnuts. He’s a nut fan, me – not so much.

Be sure to check out the other TWD bakers to see what type of Brioche Fruit Tart they came up with. I know some of them used blueberries, strawberries, and apricots!

Last Week: Tribute to Katharine Hepburn Brownies
Next Week: Raspberry Blanc-Manger

20 responses to this post.

  1. Well good job for you! It looks fab. I personally would love the nuts on top and would probably add more. Good job with yeast, bread and brioche! (Besides the time issue, I probably also chickened out of this one a bit! 😉

    Reply

  2. oooh, this looks so pretty. i would never have guessed it would be soupy…

    Reply

  3. I have a feeling that you’re right and smaller pieces of fruit are the way to go. Mine was gooey in the middle. But your photos are awesome and I think it probably tasted great.
    Well done!

    Reply

  4. It looks really pretty. I always forcibly dissolve my yeast and haven’t had any problems that I’m aware of. 🙂 You can of course use my hate letter to your pluots and I’m amazed you found plum jam. We’ll have to make it again with better behaving fruit.

    Reply

  5. Oh, I smooshed my yeast, too : ) I can’t believe you found plum jam! It seemed to be elusive for everyone else. Your tart is gorgeous!

    Reply

  6. Beautiful! I was very aggressive with my yeast and it seemed to tolerate it well. Sorry it was soupy, maybe those juicy pluots are to blame.

    Reply

  7. LOL – I had to smush my yeast too. Your finshed tart looks gorgeous – the fresh plums look delightful.

    Reply

  8. Sorry, about the soggy part… I think that you’re right and smaller pieces of plum are the way to go. Despite all your tart is beautiful!

    Reply

  9. WOWYYYY! What a beaut! You’re absolutely right… it doesn’t look soupy at ll from here… and my question pertaining to that is (cause you don’t say in your post) …Did any of the brioche leftovers came back from the beau’s office??? LOL ‘Cause if none came back… well… then you can assume he must have been simple whining …shmining… ya know. lol lol lol

    Reply

  10. I’m a smoosher of yeast as well. I heart the dough hook on the Kitchen Aid. I can’t imagine making this without the KA! Your tart looks great. Those plums sound way yummy!

    Reply

  11. I think your tart looks lovely!

    Reply

  12. This looks really good!

    Reply

  13. That looks beautiful! Don’t worry, I think a lot of people have some soupiness. I’m sure it was delicious anyways! 🙂

    Reply

  14. looks pretty good to me. Great job on your first ever bricohe. You should make a standard bricohe dough, it is so delicious on it’s own too.

    Reply

  15. This is a beautiful tart – I can’t see any soupiness. I just love brioche too – Dorie’s Brioche Raisin Snails are my favorite so far.

    Reply

  16. Congratulations on your first brioche!

    Reply

  17. My first experience with yeast was for a Dorie recipe back in November, and I’ve been hooked on yeast baking ever since! You did an amazing job – gorgeous tart! – next time, sneak a taste… You know what? I’d never eaten brioche until I baked some myself last month. I guess we’ve lived deprived existences.

    Reply

  18. That looks great. Wonder why it got soupy? I’d recommend the method of using half the flour as whole wheat pastry flour, tasted great

    Reply

  19. And you say this was your FIRST yeast experience?!!! Wow! You should be encouraged to do more. It looks just great!!

    Reply

  20. I wish i could have done this with plums, it looks so good.

    I think my brioche didn’t over-run my tart pan b/c it did not go all the way up the edges before rising…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

