Classic Banana Bundt Cake

A chocolate-covered banana!

A chocolate-covered banana!

This week Mary, The Food Librarian, selected Classic Banana Bundt Cake for the TWDers to bake. You have to visit Mary’s blog because she has such beautiful photos! And not only do you see delicious baked goodies but you also get a peek at a lot of savory dishes too! Plus, bonus, you get the recipe for Classic Banana Bundt Cake if you don’t have The Book yet.

I thought I had a Bundt pan but couldn’t find one in the cupboards. Then the beau said he found it in my garage when he cleaned it out for me one day. (Is that the best beau or what? Especially if you had seen a picture of my garage before he cleaned it out and organized it…) It was on the top shelf of the cabinet he put in my garage.

I asked him to take it down for me because I was afraid spiders and bugs might have nested in it. I don’t do well with spiders and bugs, obviously. And what do you know; I did have a Bundt pan! And a pretty nice one at that!

This recipe was soo easy – just loved the simplicity of it! I think I’ll need to get bigger bowls because this batter almost was too much for my largest bowl.

I love bananas and boy, did the batter not only smell good – it tasted good too! Amazingly, the majority of the batter made it into the Bundt pan. I baked this at the beau’s house so when I tapped the Bundt pan on the countertop, he kind of scolded me. My Bundt pan is made of cast iron I’m thinking because when I tapped it, it made a pretty loud smack against the countertop. I promised to be more careful and put that pan in the oven.

The batter smelled good, but man, when it was baking in the oven, it smelled even better! I love banana bread but have never had banana bread so was kind of wondering how it would turn out and what the difference would be.

I guess promises were meant to be broken after all because when I flipped the cake after it had cooled for 30 minutes, the pan slipped out of my hands and smacked the countertop again. I had to flash the beau my pearly whites and really promise this time to be more careful and show him there were no gouges in his countertop. =)

Such a beautiful brown, naked, Classic Banana Bundt Cake!

Such a beautiful brown, naked, Classic Banana Bundt Cake!


Instead of putting the lemon glaze on top, I thought I’d go a little wild (HAH!) and try Dorie’s bittersweet chocolate ganache as a glaze instead. I made a half recipe and didn’t even use all of it for the glaze. My glazing skills are a bit non-existent but that’s okay, the extra stuff is good for finger licking…
Looks mighty tasty in there!

Looks mighty tasty in there!

I tried a small slice before going to bed and mmmmmmm. It turns out I love banana Bundt cake too! I think the main difference is that the cake is more moist than the bread. And I hate to admit this, but I think the ganache was overkill. There’s nothing I like better than eating a fresh banana with Hershey’s kisses, but with this cake I think the lemon glaze would have been better or even naked.

My first slice...can't wait for the second one!

My first slice...can't wait for the second one!


I think this would be a great Christmas gift as mini-Bundt cakes! I usually give away mini loaves of banana bread so mini-Bundt cakes would be so much more cuter!

Last Week: Vanilla Ice Cream
Next Week: Brownie Buttons

25 responses to this post.

  1. I really loved this cake too. and i think your glazing skills are spot on – glaze all over a cake = win.

    Reply

  2. Really? Ganache overkill? too bad- it looks amazing!

    Reply

  3. Beautiful.

    I love the chocolate glaze.

    Reply

  4. Wow! Gorgeous bunt cake!
    I love your gananche, great idea.
    I’m glad yours was a hit too!

    Reply

  5. It looks great with the chocolate ganache! But it definitely is a cake that can stand alone.

    Reply

  6. Posted by teaandscones on August 4, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    It WAS good naked, too. Love the Beau story. good looking cake with the ganache.

    Reply

  7. Ohmy gosh does this look great! Nice chocolate galze!

    Reply

  8. Wow! It looks wonderful. Your glazing skills look pretty good to me!

    Reply

  9. Your cake looks lovely! Great icing!

    Reply

  10. It looks incredible with that chocolate ganache, I say overkill is okay. That is a nice beau cleaning your garage for you! Funnily enough, my boyfriend cleaned ours this weekend and created a space for my extraneous kitchen supplies.

    Reply

  11. Ooh, chocolate!!! It looks delicious! I make a cream cheese frosting and it was great! This was definitely a moist, tasty cake! I went out of town and FORGOT (gash!) my computer, so I’ll have to post a two for one next week!
    Great job!

    Reply

  12. It might not have needed the chocolate glaze but it looks fabulous! I’d love to see a photo of the cast iron bundt pan.

    Reply

  13. I knew someone was going to work chocolate in somehow…now I know: it was YOU! I’m sure if my son saw that, he would want me to do a bit of that for him, too. It looks stunning with it all dripping down the side. It looks stunning before you even applied the glaze. What is your secret to getting that out of the pan like that??? Great job.

    Reply

  14. I’m beginning to change my mind about the lemon glaze being perfect. that chocolate dripping down the sides is definitely a sight for sore eyes. OMG!

    Reply

  15. Lori, I am lovin’ that rich chocolate glaze – delicious!!!

    Reply

  16. Chocolate makes everything better, in my opinion anyway. That glaze looks absolutely amazing!

    Reply

  17. That is a very beautiful cake!!! I hate tapping my pans in the counter too, since they can scratch it, so I lay a towel underneath.. kinda cushions the sound and prevents scratching.

    Reply

  18. OMG! That looks soooo good. I want to jump in and roll around in it! Yum.

    Reply

  19. That chocolate glaze looks AWESOME!

    Great great job! 😉

    Reply

  20. Hey, thanks for checking out my TWD post! Your glaze looks to die for!!

    (BTW, TKD stands for TaeKwonDo)

    Reply

  21. WOW! extra tempting!

    Reply

  22. Mmmm, boy, does that look good!! Maybe just a touch of chocolate glaze would have been good… it’s hard to beat bananas and chocolate.

    Reply

  23. WOW! That chocolate ganache looks fantastic. Wasn’t the banana Bundt cake delicious? Yours looks perfect!

    Reply

  24. wow, chocolate ganache? great idea!

    Reply

  25. Oh gosh! The chocolate + banana! YUM indeed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

