Brownie Buttons

Dressed up Brownie Buttons

Dressed up Brownie Buttons


Jayma of Two Scientists Experimenting in the Kitchen selected Brownie Buttons for the TWD bakers to try out. Please visit Jayma to see how pretty her Brownie Buttons turned out. Jayma and her husband share the website where she does the baking and he does the cooking – what a great team! You can also get the recipe there or buy The Book – it will be a great investment!

I love recipes that don’t require your KitchenAid, Hand Mixer, Food Processor or Blender. Everything melts together in a sauce pan and then goes straight into your baking pan! What could be simpler? I doubled the recipe to fill my 24 mini-muffin pan. It’s a non-stick pan so I didn’t bother buttering it (although I harbored some doubt as to whether it really would be non-stick or not). After mixing in the flour mixture, the recipe says you should have a smooth, glossy batter. Well, I ended up with a lumpy, glossy batter. I didn’t want to overmix to get the batter smooth, so I went with it. Browsing the P&Qs this week, I took the advice of Judy from Judy’s Gross Eats and filled each mini-muffin with 1 T of brownie button batter. I baked them for 12 minutes, turned off the heat and let them sit in there for another minute. I had a hard time figuring out whether they were baked all the way through or not because the ‘spring back’ test was a little difficult to decipher – especially when it looked like the brownie buttons were bubbling around the edges.

But I needn’t have worried about the non-stick pan – they popped out easily! YAY!

Cooling down...

Cooling down...

I left them on the counter to cool. It was the beau’s birthday on Sunday so we left to go to celebrate his dinner at Marche Moderne. I have been wanting to try this restaurant for ages and I’m so glad we went! It was the last day for their Fashion Plates 4 course dinner for $40. What a bargain! Needless to say, it was a fantastic dinner, I even ate their take on a caprese salad which is amazing since I don’t like to eat tomatoes raw. Here’s a tip our waiter shared with us: when you buy tomatoes, don’t put them in the refrigerator. Leave them out, putting them in the refrigerator saps the flavor out of them. I didn’t know that, not that I would care since I don’t eat raw tomatoes but now maybe I’ll give it a shot since their salad was delicious!

Back to the brownie buttons… they were ready to be glazed with white chocolate by the time we got home. I melted some Nestle’s White Chocolate chips (I couldn’t find white chocolate bars) in the microwave and attempted to leave a swirl on top of the buttons. Didn’t exactly turn out too swirly so I just used the spatula to top them off. They didn’t look very pretty so to cover the ugliness I melted some more bittersweet chocolate and attempted to drizzle it on top of the white chocolate glaze. Some of them had bittersweet chocolate globs on them but overall it looked much prettier! I also added a little of the orange zest on top for color. The beau thought it was nice and sweet. We practiced bake and release, and he released them at work where he said some of the ladies mentioned this not helping them with their diets at all! But they’re button-size, so hopefully it didn’t do too much damage!

When the white chocolate didn't work out... tried to hide it!

When the white chocolate didn't work out... tried to hide it!

Next Week: Applesauce Spice Bars
Last Week: Classic Banana Bundt Cake

37 responses to this post.

  1. They look cute. Sounds like a fun dinner too!

    Reply

  2. WOW!!! those are almost masterpieces of the brownie reign… what a work of art! Very, very well done!

    Reply

  3. Love the chocolate drizzle on top of the white chocolate ganache – very elegant! So glad you enjoyed these – we gobbled them up; I wish I thought to double the recipe!

    Reply

  4. Those are beautiful! I love all of the colors!

    Reply

  5. Love the way you decorated the Brownie Buttons!!

    Reply

  6. Wow, these look fanciful! Fancy brownie buttons! 🙂

    Reply

  7. They turned out great! Like you, I doubled the recipe. To answer your question on how I did the glaze, I added 3 Tbsp of milk on the white chocolate when i was melting it, so it was a bit runny, just good enough for me to dip them bad boys. Keep baking!!

    Reply

  8. Wow, these are really special and beautifully executed…I am doing this treatment for the Christmas cookie platters this year…bookmarking this now! Thanks for sharing…really nice job on these.

    Reply

  9. I love these! Your decorations are so professional looking! Well done!

    Reply

  10. and what a great job you did covering them up! mmmmm

    Reply

  11. Bake and release – ha ha! They look great with the extra chocolate and zest on top!

    Reply

  12. I also like the drizzly stuff. Pretty enough for a shower or luncheon.

    Reply

  13. These look wonderful. I need to make them. They are just so little and cute. I love the “bake and release,” I’m going to have to start doing that more.

    Reply

  14. I love the way you’ve decorated the Brownie Buttons – I’m just imagining tasting one now. Super!

    Reply

  15. Wow – your buttons turned out so pretty!

    It took me a minute to get your “bake and release” comment — LOL!

    Reply

  16. They look beautiful! I never trust non-stick pans, though I don’t really like greasing pans either. Happy birthday to your beau, sounds like you had a great meal!

    Reply

  17. They are beautiful!
    So elegant with the drizzle and the orange zest!

    Reply

  18. Love the way your decorated your buttons. The orange zest adds a nice pop of colour.

    Reply

  19. If at first you don’t succeed with white chocolate icing, add a second layer of dark chocolate icing. Great idea!

    Reply

  20. I agree – it WAS hard to figure out when they were done – all that bubbling. These look fantastic! Love the creative license you took with the drizzling!

    Reply

  21. Your buttons are gorgeous! My batter was also lumpy and glossy but it didn’t seem to affect the results in either of our cases 🙂

    Reply

  22. Posted by teaandscones on August 12, 2009 at 2:45 pm

    Those look fantastic with the frosting and drizzle.

    Reply

  23. Bake and release – you are brave! Love the way your frosting turned out.

    Reply

  24. Mmm, they look like they’re dressed up and ready to face the office ladies, LOL.

    Nice work! they look delish!

    Reply

  25. I love the chocolate drizzle and the orange zest on top–they look so sophisticated! I also love “bake and release”–the baking part is easy, it’s the releasing part that I have trouble with.

    Reply

  26. Aw, they look really cute! I’m loving the two kinds of chocolate on top and the flecks of zest. And dinner sounds yummy. I love me a nice prix fixe dinner – such a special treat. Happy birthday to your man!

    Reply

  27. These look great, I would have never known that you were trying to hide ugliness. Love the orange zest on top. The brownies look like they came out really moist, great job!

    Reply

  28. nice job! i love the two tone effect of glazing. I’ll be glad to pop at least 2 at one go please!

    Reply

  29. Great post; we had many of the same batter issues, but my favorite part of your post is the “bake and reliease” -love it!

    Reply

  30. Nice decorating the brownies 🙂

    Reply

  31. I think your buttons look great with the chocolate drizzle and sprinkling of zest! Great job!

    Reply

  32. They look really pretty! nice job.

    Reply

  33. Um, this is what your stuff looks like when it doesn’t turn out the way you wanted it to? How come mine is ready for the garbage and yours is ready for a magazine photo? Not that I’m jealous of your gorgeous brownie bites or anything…

    Reply

  34. These are just SO cute!

    Reply

  35. Those look great! And I love the phrase ‘bake & release’ I’m going to have to start using that! : )

    Reply

  36. You made these simple treats a work of art Lori – love ’em.

    Reply

  37. i love how you decorated them!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

