Applesauce Spice Bars

Ooey, Gooey, Deliciousness

Ooey, Gooey, Deliciousness


Well, this is going to be a short post. Yesterday I was given a 6 week notice at work. My first layoff notice in the 19 years I’ve been with the company so I guess you could say I’ve been lucky. But I’d rather have been given this notice years ago when the economy was in a better state…

Karen of Something Sweet selected Applesauce Spice Bars for the TWD bakers to whip up. Please visit Karen at Something Sweet to see her yummy results and for the recipe, because it’s a really good one to try out!

This was another easy recipe which did not require a hand mixer or your Kitchen Aid. We were in Nipomo over the weekend so I didn’t get a chance to bake it until last night and after getting layed (is that the correct term?) off, I didn’t really feel like doing much. I told the Beau that I was going home to bake and then eat it all myself! HAH!

The glaze reminded me of the glaze I used to make for caramel corn. It tastes soo sweet, like caramel! The title of this sweet sounds like it’s good for you in a healthy way but it’s quite deceiving!

I actually ended up baking this and bringing it in to work. My co-workers are going to miss my baking! HAH!

O, I did want to mention the ‘bake and release’ term I used in my last post. A few of my TWD buddies mentioned it and I meant to clarify this in the last post but obviously forgot – it’s Dorie’s philosophy. It was her response to the question of how she stays soo slim while creating and baking so many goodies! So I’m just following her lead!

Next Week: Creamiest Lime Cream Meringue Pie
Last Week: Brownie Buttons

16 responses to this post.

  1. Yours are so incredibly cute! I love them with the nuts on top!!

    Reply

  2. I’m really sorry to hear about your work situation…so many people are going through it, but you are talented and you will certainly move forward! The applesauce bars look fantastic….they absolutely will miss you at your office!

    Reply

  3. I love that nut on top! Brilliant!

    Bake and Release is what I do, too! 😉

    Reply

  4. Ugh, sorry to hear the bad news. I hope you find another job soon and then you’ll have a new batch of coworkers to enjoy your baked goods!

    Reply

  5. Your applesauce bars look so cute with the walnut on top!
    I’m really sorry to hear about your job, I hope you find another job soon.

    Reply

  6. Sorry about your job. (Just happened to my mom, too, after 12 years at her job.) Crazy.
    LOVE your bars with the pecan on top, great idea!
    We must, we must, we must all bake and release! 😉

    Reply

  7. I’m so sorry about your job! That happened to me three years ago after 12 years with a great company, but they sold the business and closed the office. I found my dream job, fewer hours (and less pay) and less stress. I really feel like I got my life back, and I wouldn’t go back. I know the market is really difficult now, but talented people like you invariably find a new home. I’m glad you got to make and enjoy these delicious bars!

    Reply

  8. Yummy…

    What did you say your address was???

    Reply

  9. Oh, so sorry to hear your bad news. Hopefully this will be the start of bigger and better things. On the bright side, your bars look delicious! I love the pecan half on top of each slice.

    Reply

  10. The bars look fantastic and you should post your caramel corn recipe some day, I used to love that stuff when I was a kid! Sorry to hear about your job, luckily things seem to be slightly better than they were six months ago, so hopefully you’ll find something soon.

    Reply

  11. Sorry about the layoffs, hopefully baking will help you destress!

    Reply

  12. those look so gooey and good.

    i’m sorry about your job – i hope you are able to find another one soon.

    Reply

  13. Bad news about your job. So sorry.

    Love the “bake and release” idea. I don’t mind throwing stuff away either, if necessary. http://www.salad-in-a-jar.com/skinny-secrets/on-the-waist-or-in-the-waste

    Reply

  14. I’m sorry about your job – I’m in a similar situation. I truly believe that everything happens for a reason – hopefully you will enjoy the new direction your life takes.

    Oh and the apple bars look great! I didn’t make them but I think I will now with nuts on top!

    Reply

  15. Posted by teaandscones on August 27, 2009 at 5:39 pm

    Sorry about the job. Hope things are looking up real soon

    Bars look great.

    Reply

  16. Sorry to hear about your job Lori. The “bake and release” philosophy sounds like a good one – I must remember that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

