Creamiest Lime Cream Meringue Pie

Yummm, I love it soo much I'm going to marry it!!

Creamiest Lime Cream Meringue Pie soo Yummy I want to marry it!...


Linda of the Tender Crumb selected Dorie’s Creamiest Lime Cream Meringue Pie for the TWD crew to bake for LAST week’s assignment. I procrastinated too long and ended up baking it on Wednesday night – or was it Thursday? I took pictures and again procrastinated in posting about it. Please visit Linda at the Tender Crumb to see how her Creamiest Lime Cream Meringue Tartlets turned out and for the recipe. You’ll also get to see a really cute picture of her dog Siena. I’m jealous of Linda’s Tartlets because her graham cracker crust looks perfect!

When I saw that I had to cook the lime cream over simmering water, I was a bit hesitant since I haven’t had much luck with getting creams/custards to 180 degrees. This time I relied on Dorie’s instruction to prepare to stop when the whisk leaves tracks. Amazingly it did and I stopped! After the cooling period, I did a taste test and fell IN LOVE! It tasted sooo delicious, I wanted to marry it! Childish yes, but it tasted that good!

My graham cracker crust did not turn out as well. I used my pie pan which I don’t know the dimension but it was too big because the crust was very thin. But that didn’t matter because the lime cream would save the day!

I poured the lime cream in and circled it with diced mango. It looked a little bizarre since the lime cream didn’t fill up the pie that much. But that didn’t matter because the lime cream would save the day!

I sliced a piece of my Creamiest Lime Cream Meringueless Pie and … got cold feet. The lime cream kind of blobbed out at the edges. It didn’t look pretty, but it’s the inside that counts the most right? Well, his insides collapsed. Boo hoo. I was soo positive that this was the one, but unfortunately, I had to leave him at the altar.

Don’t get me wrong, this is the tastiest Creamiest Lime Cream and I’m sure he’ll turn out perfect for someone, in fact it was probably all me and not him anyways. I didn’t give him 100% since I only used 2 sticks of butter. Yeah, it was me, not him…

Last Week: Applesauce Spice Bars
Next Week: Espresso Cheesecake Brownies

Getting cold feet...

Getting cold feet...

4 responses to this post.

  1. sorry the filling didn’t stay put- at least the filling tasted good, right?

    Reply

  2. I missed your post last week, but your pie looks fabulous!

    Reply

  3. You had to leave him at the alter?! You are hilarious, love it. 😉

    I like your creativity with this pie! It looks delicious!

    Reply

  4. Very funny post! Despite all, I think your pie looks fantastic!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

