Espresso Cheesecake Brownies


The result...

Where are the pretty swirls???


Melissa of Life in a Peanut Shell selected this week’s TWD assignment of Espresso Cheesecake Brownies. Please visit Melissa’s blog to see her stunning take on the Espresso Cheesecake Brownies and to find the recipe. Melissa’s blog contains a LOT of BEAUTIFUL posts of all the goodies she’s baked. Your sweet tooth will be aching after browsing her blog.

I don’t drink coffee drinks because I don’t like the taste of coffee. However, I do happen to LOVE coffee ice cream and candies. I was lucky to have found instant espresso for an earlier Dorie recipe so I was glad to have a chance to use more of it.

Making the brownie part was easy. What wasn’t easy was spreading 3/4 of the batter in a 9×9 inch square pan. It was barely enough to cover the bottom and trying to spread it was a battle, I was worried that all the flour I used to dust the pan was getting absorbed by the batter as I tried to spread it around.

I forgot to bring my hand mixer with me to the Beau’s house so I ended up using the food processor to cream the cheesecake portion. Kind of messy but it worked. I wasn’t sure if it turned out too liquidy or not.

Toppin it with the leftover brownie was something else. Everyone mentioned how pretty the top was with the swirls in the P&Qs, they didn’t want to put the sour cream glaze on top of it. Not the case here. My drops were more like clumps. And trying to swirl clumps into liquidy cheesecake did not a pretty picture make. O, well. Here’s how it turned out:

Out of the oven looking a little creepy...

Out of the oven looking a little creepy...

Man, sour cream + powdered sugar = crazy happy taste buds. I had to use the sour cream topping to cover the moon like crater brownie/cheesecake, plus it was soo tasty! Here’s a bad picture:

Poor quality photo but looking a lot less creepy...

Poor quality photo but looking a lot less creepy...

The Beau released these brownies at work and he left me a message saying his co-workers loved them! YAY! I have yet to try a piece, but I’m pretty confident I won’t be disappointed!

Last Week: Creamiest Lime Cream Meringue Pie
Next Week: Chocolate Souffle

9 responses to this post.

  1. I am glad people liked yours! Yay! Success!

    I am yet to try mine at home and there have been a lot of mixed reviews regarding the taste combination. I guess I will have to wait and see too! 😉

    Reply

  2. These brownies look great! They were fun to make weren’t they. I also didn’t get any great whirl patterns so was pleased when the sour cream covered them.

    Reply

  3. Absolutely dreamy! …and sooooo even!

    Reply

  4. These were a big hit around here with the guys who like chocolate, cheesecake, coffee, and sour cream…a big hit here! Yours look lovely, I like seeing how all the layers went together.

    Reply

  5. I think it all looks great. I left off the sour cream, but I’ve sure been hearing lots of love for it. Great job! Glad it was so well liked.

    Reply

  6. These looks great. I skipped the sour cream topping, but will have to try it next time!! – mary

    Reply

  7. Your brownies are perfect! I didn’t get any great swirls either. I didn’t make the sour cream layer, but next time I will try it! Great job!

    Reply

  8. I also didn’t get pretty swirls, more like globby blobs.

    Yours look great! I’m glad they were appreciated and enjoyed.

    Reply

  9. Yours look just great.

    Mine wouldn’t swirl – had lumps, but still tasty.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

