Chocolate Souffle

Chocolate Souffle (Not Tea) for Two...

Chocolate Souffle (Not Tea) for Two...


Susan from She’s Becoming DoughMessTic selected Chocolate Souffle for the TWD bakers to bake along with her this week. If you haven’t visited Susan, please do! She has the most amazing photos of her sweet and savory goodies. I love her blog header and her play on words with her blog title. You can also find the recipe there too. But seriously, buy the book if you haven’t already, it’s loaded with fantastic recipes to bake!

Thanks to the P&Qs for the Chocolate Souffle, I quartered this recipe since it was just going to be dessert for the two of us. I’ve never made souffle before so was curious as to how it would turn out. I wasn’t sure how to half an egg white to I beat 2 egg whites and took out a portion of it before adding the sugar to it. Seemed to work out fine. I had never quartered a recipe before so it was kind of funny melting 1.5 ounces of chocolate and adding 2 T of sugar to it. Such small amounts. Everything worked out fine except I was hoping the coffee cups would have been filled to almost the top with the batter. It went maybe 5/8 up.

I didn’t want to make myself crazy by keeping a watchful eye on it to make sure it rose so I left it alone. I checked on it once and it rose quite a bit so I was pretty happy. Except when the timer went off and I went to take them out, they had already deflated! Bummer!

Souffle sunk in the oven...

Souffle sunk in the oven...

But does appearance really matter? The truth was in the pudding, so to speak. I served it to the Beau as is. Unfortunately I didn’t think to buy cream to add whipped cream to it or buy anything else to make a sauce alongside it. Next time (and there will be a next time, it was really easy amazingly). We let it cool a bit because the coffee cups were still quite hot. I have to say, I really really like this souffle! It was light and just sweet enough. Adding whipped cream or sauce would certainly enhance the enjoyment, but simply by itself was delicious!

but it doesn't matter... still tastes delicious!

but it doesn't matter... still tastes delicious!

As a side note, I’d like to apologize to the TWD bakers. I’ve been absent with my comments in the past couple weeks. I think the layoff notice kind of threw me for a loop there for a while. But thankfully, I’m out of the loop. In fact I went on 2 interviews and one of them was with a group I worked with before and they said they’d be happy if I came back. What a relief that was! I’m still exploring other possibilities but I’m grateful they’re willing to take me back after I left them to come to my current position. Thanks to all who sent me such kind reassurances, it was very much appreciated and really lifted me up when I needed a lift.

Last Week: Espresso Cheesecake Brownies
Next Week: Flaky Apple Turnovers

28 responses to this post.

  1. Thanks for baking along with me! I think I may have to make some in the mugs like you did – having a huge souffle in the house is BAD news!! 🙂 – Def add whipped cream next time – with syrup – you won’t be sorry!

    Reply

  2. I’m glad you liked it so…
    I’m sure they looked great all puffed up, but like you said, looks don’t really matter… as long as it’s flavorful!
    I saw someone’s blog this morning (I think it was Kim of What the Whisk) who had the ingenious idea of taking the picture while the soufflés were in the oven! Had I thought about it… I wouldn’t have had to rush like crazy to take the picture before it deflated.

    We can all see though, very clearly, that yours went very high… bravo.

    Reply

  3. I love the tea cups! Glad to hear interviews are going well

    Reply

  4. Your souffles looks so great in those cups…what a wonderful idea to make them in those. I learn so much from you creative people! Sounds like it was a hit, I know it was a big hit here with my guys, so I will be making these again. And again. Good thing they are so easy. Best wishes for new endeavors with your job!

    Reply

  5. I love that you made these in cups! So super cool!

    I want to poke a spoon and crack open that lovely top! Beautiful! 🙂

    Reply

  6. These are super cute in teacups Lori. They were delicious without icecream or anyhting else. And congrats on finding a new job!!!

    Reply

  7. I think the souffles look awesome, even if they did sink in the oven. Who really cares if they sink as long as they taste great!!! And they look so cute in the coffee mugs! So happy for you that you already have a job option! Enjoy the little bit of time off while it lasts!!!!

    Reply

  8. “Souffles for two!” Very nice. So glad you were able to work out all that recipe quartering. Whew, you guys are way smarter than me. he he The look so inviting paired together in the photograph. Great job.

    A side note: so glad you have options in your life. That is such a relief these days.
    AmyRuth

    Reply

  9. I just love the teacup souffles. I am feeling very encouraged now – makes me want to try them for one or two and not be too dependent on having to take large portion goodies to the office.

    Reply

  10. Great news on the interview! Woo-hoo! 🙂 Lovely souffles. They remind me of hot chocolate in the cups!

    Reply

  11. Coffee cups are LOVELY. I will def. go with souffles in individual coffee cups next time.

    Reply

  12. Well, I’m glad that you are back in the swing of things. Good luck with the job! Nice job on the souffles. They look so cute in the cups. Take care!

    Reply

  13. Love the souffle tea! I was a bit scared of this one, too. But SUPER easy and tasted great!
    Yay for jobs!

    Reply

  14. I just love your soufflés in these cups – what a fantastic idea!
    Good luck with your job!

    Reply

  15. What! You got laid off?!

    Reply

  16. The souffles look terrific, so cute in the cups! I’m happy to hear things are looking positive on the job front, that’s great news!

    Reply

  17. Oh, they’re so cute in the coffee mugs! I love it–very classy and chic.

    Reply

  18. Your souffles turned out great! (I also think your Brownie Buttons are adorable. I love the decoration on top.) I’ve had my yellow souffle dishes for so long that I think they qualify as antiques. Half a recipe was the perfect amount to fill all four. Best of luck on the job front.

    Reply

  19. I loved this recipe too. It’s so impressive, but really so easy to make.

    Reply

  20. I love that you baked them in cups – so elegant and whimsical too! 🙂 Thanks for also stopping by my blog!

    Reply

  21. Very smart to whip op the whites and then just remove half of them. This was tasty wasn’t it? Good luck with your job search, it sounds like you have some good leads.

    Reply

  22. They are so cute in the coffee cups..I might have to copy you next time and try that :).

    Reply

  23. Posted by teaandscones on September 11, 2009 at 12:16 pm

    Love that used cups. They were really easy, weren’t they. And so, so good. Yep!! Definitely a keeper here too.

    Yours look just great.

    Reply

  24. I love that you baked these in tea mugs!!!! I loved this too! so good!

    All the best with the job!

    Reply

  25. Keep us informed about your job prospects. Although I don’t really know you, I’m not surprised your old job wants you back. You seem like a very positive person.

    Love those little cups by the way. Gives a whole different mood to souffle.

    Reply

  26. This looks great! And I’m so happy about your job situation. That must have been very tough.

    Reply

  27. Those look adorable in the mocha cups! Love them! And I know how you feel about them falling – but hey, ours are just that more “unique”! Glad you made them – it’s always a learning experience, that’s how I look at it! Nice job!

    Reply

  28. Congratulations on finding a job lead! I’m sure that is a huge relief.

    And this souffle really was fantastic, wasn’t it? And way easier than you’d think!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

