Flaky Apple Turnovers

Flaky Apple Turnovers - lookin' good!

Flaky Apple Turnovers - lookin' good!


Jules of Someone’s in the Kitchen selected Flaky Apple Turnovers for the TWD Bakers to try out. Please visit her blog to see the life in her food, the food in her life, her life in food!

I was very hesitant about baking this recipe. I have no skills whatsoever in baking pie dough unfortunately. I forged ahead and came out with some pretty good looking pie dough if I do say so myself – and I just did! I should have taken a picture because you could see spotches of butter rolled out in the dough. Cool. And that’s about the extent of my success with this recipe this week. The End.

HAH – just joshing with you! (About ‘The End’, not about my success.) When I rolled the dough out and tried to lift the cutouts onto my silpat sheet, the dough kind of stuck to the wax paper. Not pretty. Then I added about 1 T of the apple filling and dotted it with butter. It looked pretty okay at this point. Until I noticed that some of the sweet apple juice was leaking all over. And when I tried to close the apple turnovers and the dough kind of stretched and ripped in places. And then I tried to patch it up with the leftover dough and then it really wasn’t looking too pretty.

O, well. So it didn’t look pretty, actually I took a picture of the 2 prettiest ones and they don’t look half bad. I only baked half the dough (the other half is still in the refrigerator). And out of the half dough that I baked, I froze 2 of the turnovers and they are the best looking ones. I’m releasing the bad ones at work tomorrow to my co-workers – HAH! Take that for laying me off! Not that I’m bitter about it or anything…

The deep freeze, good lookin' flaky apple turnovers...

The deep freeze, good lookin' flaky apple turnovers...



I ate the ugliest looking one and boy, did it taste GOOD! That is the best tasting dough I’ve had and the apple filling was nice, soft, and just the right amount of sweetness. I used a granny smith and a braeburn apple mixture. Love it! Can’t wait to roll out the rest of the dough for this! I have to take some to my mom too, she’s going to love it!

Check out the rest of the TWD Bakers to see how wondrous their Flaky Apple Turnovers turned out, you’ll be amazed!

Last Week: Chocolate Souffle
Next Week: Cottage Cheese Pufflets

24 responses to this post.

  1. You don’t have piecrust skills? Could have fooled me. I agree these tasted better than they looked. Who cares about looks, right? 🙂

    Reply

  2. I think they look gorgeous and I think you did a great job!

    Reply

  3. No skills shmoo shnills… You got the power! Those are very nice, and I’m sure you now think you would have regretted it had you not made them!

    Very nice!

    Reply

  4. I don’t think they look ugly at all and it wouldn’t matter anyways cus they taste soo good! Nice job!

    Reply

  5. You are so awesome!

    The fact that you made the pastry dough .. you are my hero!

    Yours look too darn good to eat! But I will have a few if you offer them!

    I didn’t even bother making the dough since I was too busy watching my True Blood’s show. 😉

    Reply

  6. Those DO look great! My dough tore a little on a few of mine, too, and I knew I’d have cherry pie filling oozing out all over. Oh well, GOOD stuff! I also made some banana chocolate chip ones! Play around with the fillings for the rest of your dough! 😉

    Reply

  7. Yours came out prettier than mine, haha! I got one decent turnover out of 12 I made, and that’s what I used for the picture.

    Keep baking!

    Reply

  8. I have had more people tell me they can’t find cinnamon chips….well guess what …I could not find them anywhere…in some stores they are a seasonal item they usually get around this time of year. My sweet blogging friend sent some to me in the mail last year and then while we were in Lake Tahoe CA on vacation I happened to find them in a Grocery Outlet store for 89cents a bag…can you believe that! I ended up getting 10 bags…should have got them all. My husband said too, but I thought it would be silly to take back 100 bags of cinnamon chips in a hot vehicle all the way back to Idaho..probably would have had cinnamon juice by the time we made it home:). I am going to contact the Hershey company today and find out the scoop on these much sought after cinnamon chips..I will let you know what they say!! Oh all i put all my cc in the freezer and guess what…I only have 2 bags left! I need some more now too!

    Reply

  9. I think your turnovers look great. I had some tearing issues too. I think bigger circles would do the trick and you could get more filling in them too. I think it is more about how something tastes anyway. Glad you liked them.

    Reply

  10. Isn’t the finished product just wonderful! You did a great job! They look very flakey! And i love the shape of them – next time, I think I’ll experiment with shapes, but I’m sure yours tasted delicious!!!

    Reply

  11. You did a fabulous job! After watching the movie Julia and Julie, my new favorite word is YUM and these apple turnovers fit the description. =)

    Reply

  12. The 2 chosen turnovers look so moist and flaky! I understand your frustration with the dough, My problem was that I roughed mine up too much. All that matters is the taste! I brought mine into work as well only I told my co-workers that they were hand pies just to avoid looks of confusion over a turnover label.:P

    Reply

  13. My dough stuck to the cutting board until I tossed a little flour on it. Your tarts look beautiful.

    Reply

  14. Posted by teaandscones on September 16, 2009 at 8:52 pm

    Actually, those first two pies look fantastic. Shiney and brown and delicious.

    Reply

  15. See, all those times we were told as children that “beauty is only skin deep” is coming true! Even not-so-sexy turnovers taste amazing (and I happen to think they look fantastic, by the way.) Congrats!

    Reply

  16. Well, I think they look nice and rustic and good and that’s exactly how they are supposed to look, right? This dough was dangerous…I can’t make these very often b/c I would eat far too many of them. They were very very good. Fun post!

    Reply

  17. sounds like pie success!

    Reply

  18. You know, I think the younger generation will get older and come full circle, wanting to slow down and include the community more…at least I hope this will be the case. I do know that there are a lot of you pick places fruit places still. Maybe I will try that next time.

    You know, your cute turnovers are inspiring me to make this recipe anyways, even though I will be several days late in joining the fun…thank you for that…I really feel guilty when I miss one of our TWD events.

    Reply

  19. I think you’re well on you way to becoming a pie maker. Your turnovers look awesome!

    My dough was soft and the turnovers didn’t look so hot going into the oven, but they turned out pretty well too. Guess there was some baking magic going on in the oven this week 🙂

    Reply

  20. These look fabulous Lori – you can now say that you have pie making skills.

    Reply

  21. Ha ha! Great post! I think these look fantastic! I often say that homemade desserts that look homemade are my favorites. You can see they were made with love by an actual person. That beats some perfect-looking but soulless apple turnover any day!

    Reply

  22. Your Apple Turnovers look a great success. Maybe we shouldn’t worry about them forming perfectly – as long as taste good. I’m wondering if we made the dough a little bit thicker than 1/8 inch the turnovers would be easier to handle?

    Reply

  23. I really suck at pie crusts! Your cousin is good at it…we should make Jenn have a class! 🙂 These look yummy!

    Reply

  24. I’m glad you had the courage to make them… cause they turned out pretty darn good looking and I’m sure, just as delicious! Bravo!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

