MTAOFC: Cold Water-cress Soup

Cold Water-cress Soup with a chive garnish...

Cold Water-cress Soup with a chive garnish...

My girlfriend Sandy gave me Julia Child’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking for my birthday last month. Soo excited, although wishing the book had illustrated pictures alongside the recipes.

So for my first recipe, I tried a cold soup which sounded perfect for these super hot days we’ve been having lately. I’ve never had Vichyssoise so I thought I’d try that until I saw the variation of Cold Water-cress Soup (and I don’t know why ‘water-cress’ is hyphenated like that) which is simply Vichyssoise with water cress added in the last 5 minutes of simmering prior to the puree. The Beau and I loved this soup! I can hardly wait to try other recipes in the book!

Here are a few pictures:

Simmering the leeks and potatoes in low sodium chicken broth...

Simmering the leeks and potatoes in low sodium chicken broth...

Watercress simmering in the last 5 minutes...

Watercress simmering in the last 5 minutes...

Straining the puree took forever!

Straining the puree took forever!

Cold Water-cress Soup

For 6 to 8 people

3 c peeled, sliced potatoes
3 c sliced white of leek
1 1/2 quart of white stock, chicken stock, or canned chicken broth
1/2 to 1 c whipping cream
salt and white pepper
2 – 3 T minced chives
Chilled soup cups

Either simmer the vegetables, stock or broth, and salt to taste together, partially covered, in a 3-4 quart saucepan for 40 to 50 minutes until the vegetables are tender; or cook under 15 pounds pressure for 5 minutes; release pressure, and simmer uncovered for 15 minutes. Puree the soup either in the electric blender or through a food mill and then through a fine sieve.

Stir in the cream. Season to taste, over salting very slightly as salt loses savor in a cold dish. Chill.

Serve in chilled soup cups and decorate with minced chives.

Bon Appetit!

One response to this post.

  1. Your recipes look just great and really tasty. Thank you for this beautiful and delighted time I spent through your blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

