Chocolate-Crunched Caramel Tart

Oozing ganache...

Oozing ganache...


Carla of Chocolate Moosey (cutest blog name!) selected this week’s pick for the TWD Bakers to attempt. Please visit Carla at Chocolate Moosey to read about her experience baking her TWD choice after waiting 16 long months! You can also get the recipe there too but I highly suggest you purchase Dorie’s book instead!

I’m going to separate this tart into 3 components and state that I had success on 2 of the components. First, the tart dough. I simply dread recipes with any type of dough because I never know when to stop the mixing and when I do stop, it’s usually too late. This time it was really successful! YAY! I can’t tell you how lovely it looked once I took the tart out of the oven! I’m such a goober, I forgot to take a picture of it.

Second, the caramel. First time making caramel and I don’t have an instant thermometer. I melted the sugar and noticed that some of the sugar formed clumps, kind of like rock sugar candy. Not looking good so far. It did end up having a nice caramel color after the addition of the corn syrup and cream. The rock sugar was still there so I just put the caramel through the strainer and hoped for the best. Success!! Here’s a picture of the caramel layer (notice that I didn’t see the part of the recipe that said to chop the honey roasted peanuts):

The 'Crunched' layer, soo caramel-y!

The 'Crunched' layer, soo caramel-y!

Third, the chocolate ganache. HAH! I figured this would be the easiest component since I’ve made chocolate ganache before with success. If you’ve been counting along, this would mean that this component is the one that didn’t succeed. I don’t know what happened, but it came out very liquid-y. You can see some of the ganache oozing over the edge in the first photo. Even though I dropped the tart pan a few times to get rid of the bubbles, some still came to the top after being in the refrigerator. I left it in the refrigerator for the 30 minute timeout but when I sliced into it, the ganache was too soft. I left the rest of the tart in the frig overnight and we had some for dessert that night. The texture was tons better but the crust was a little too crusty. Although I have to say, I LOVED the taste of the crust and especially the caramel! I’m soo excited about the caramel – I plan to make it whenever I want a caramel topping!

Too much refrigeration made the crust crustier...

Too much refrigeration made the crust crustier...

Last Week: Cottage Cheese Pufflets
Next Week: Split Level Pudding

11 responses to this post.

  1. Ahhhh… just like me, you (almost) had a spill! Makes it that more tempting no? LOL

    Well done!

    Reply

  2. Very nice! I loved this recipe too!

    Reply

  3. looks great to me! nice work

    Reply

  4. It looks nice! I was happy about a successful caramel too. I don’t know why ganache would be tricky, but it is.

    Reply

  5. The finished slice looks heavenly – and just think of what you learned (making caramel) – that’s the most important part! Nice job! Everything CAN’T be that easy…. 🙂 Looks fantastic!

    Reply

  6. WOW. I like how the ganache oozes down the side and look at the heavenly layers of goodness! I want a slice NOW!

    Beautiful pictures! 😉

    Reply

  7. Your tart looks great! My favorite part was the caramel too, it was a good recipe, I usually have all kinds of problems.

    Reply

  8. Wow, it looks delish! I can’t wait to make this. My husband’s birthday is on Monday, so I’m hoping (although we’ll be out of town from tomorrow to Sunday!), but I’m hoping to get this made!
    That’s so cool that Jenn is your cousin. You’re right, it really is such a small world!

    Reply

  9. I agree–the caramel sauce was awesome! Glad you loved it.

    Reply

  10. Looks great.

    I have actually made the caramel twice since Tuesday. Good with a spoon – just it – alone!!

    Reply

  11. my ganache was like yours too….it didn’t set until overnight. but this was so good! i made tartlets so my crust wasn’t so thick so it wasn’t an issue

    Reply

Leave a Reply

