Cinnamon Pecan Coffee Cake

Ready to be sacrificed to the Surf Zombie... can you see my hand underneath?

Ready to be sacrificed to the Surf Zombie... can you see my hand underneath?


This is my first post with The Cake Slice. I’ve admired this group for a while when they were baking those Sky High cakes and finally took the plunge and joined them! We are currently baking from the book Southern Cakes by Nancie McDermott. Sorry for the bad lighting in the photo above but the Surf Zombie prefers the dark vs the light.

This was an interesting coffee cake to bake. The first time I used melted butter as part of the streusel, usually it’s cold butter cut into the sugar mixture. Not that I’m complaining – I love breakfast so coffee cakes are perfect for me, especially if it involves cinnamon. I’m a no-raisin type so I subbed mini-chocolate chips with this. I would have LOVED to sub with cinnamon chips but to date have not been able to find any cinnamon chips anywhere, it’s soo aggravating!! It was also really difficult to spread the batter because it was so thick but I was able to manage it. More batter ended up on top…

Ready to be eaten!

Ready to be eaten!


I messed up with the baking time. I set the time to 45 minutes on the Beau’s kitchen stove timer but forget to press the button again to start it. I was almost done with the dishes when I noticed that it was still waiting for me to press start. Yipes. I guesstimated that I spent about 10 minutes with the dishes and started the timer for 35 minutes. It smelled really, really, really delicious while it was baking so I was a little impatient for those 35 minutes. But finally it was done!

Ready for my close up Mr. De Mille!

Ready for its close up Mr. De Mille!


I let it cool for a few minutes as noted in the recipe and then sliced into it. It was a little difficult to cut and lift out pieces since it was still warm, but we didn’t care and ate 2 pieces. SOOO SOOO good! Thank goodness we practice Dorie’s philosophy of baking – Bake and Release or else I’m sure I would have eaten all of it all by myself and that’s not a good practice. The Beau took the majority of it to work and I took the rest to my mom’s house.

Ready for the first bite, right out of the oven!

Ready for the first bite, right out of the oven!


What a great start with The Cake Slice! Go ahead and browse the other Cake Slice bakers and see how their Cinnamon Pecan Coffee Cakes turned out!

16 responses to this post.

  1. That looks so good!! Was here to look at your biscuits but had to stop and look at this cake!

    Reply

  2. Looks so yummy!

    Reply

  3. I thought about adding chocolate chips to mine but added more pecans instead. next time though I might have to add cinnamon chips. why didn’t I think of that?

    welcome to the group!

    Reply

  4. Your cake looks fab – espcieally as you guestimated the time. Please can you remove the name of next months cake though – its meant to be a secret!

    Reply

  5. I used choco chips too 😉

    Reply

  6. I’ve seen so many of these today and they all look so fantastic! Gotta try this one, for sure.

    Reply

  7. I bet the surf zombie will be happy !!

    Reply

  8. Whoa! That sure would have beaten the egg whites and whole wheat toast (dry) I just ate for breakfast. We need to be friends? hehe That looks scrumptious! A great weekend treat for sure. Thanks for stopping by.
    AmyRuth

    I hate it when I forget the blasted timer…. 😦

    Reply

  9. Coffee cake looks amazing.

    I miss baking with the Cake Slice Bakers. Too many sweets, but now that you are in a different book I may come back.

    Great job.

    Reply

  10. What a deliicous looking cake! Love your tribal guy in the background too.

    Reply

  11. Posted by hotovenwarmheart on October 23, 2009 at 5:02 am

    Hi Lori Ann!

    I just wanted to stop by and introduce myself- My name is Joy and I’m another one of the newbie Cake Slice bakers. I’m really looking forward to meeting other members, and I hope to have the chance to get to know you better as we bake our way through Southern Cakes 🙂

    Your coffee cake looks super delicious- fantastic job! I have done that before- set the timer, but forgot to hit start- but I usually panic since I’m always nervous about over/under baking. It looks like your guess-timation skills were right on, because your cake came out perfect. It was really sweet of you to share it too… I’m sure that everyone who was lucky enough to get a taste enjoyed it immensely and was very appreciative!

    If you have a chance, I’d love for you to stop by my blog, “Hot Oven, Warm Heart,” and say hello- it’d be wonderful to hear from you!

    Hope you have a great rest of your week and a relaxing weekend!

    Fondly,
    Joy
    http://hotovenwarmheart.wordpress.com/

    Reply

  12. Posted by Beau on October 23, 2009 at 5:33 am

    Instead of a category for “Beau’s Kitchen” I’d love to see a category for “Beau’s favorites”… so, we can keep track of, you know – the ones to make again, and again… xoxo!

    Reply

  13. Yum..I love breakfast(or coffee cakes) this one looks like a keeper! Hey about your question how do I manage with the working out thing..well the best tip I can give you is do it first thing in the morning..you will get into a routine and it will be hard not to do it after awhile..I hope it works for you! I go TandTh to a 6am spin class…Lift on M, W, and F. Yoga on M, W and F. Running on S and S and sometimes during the week. I also rotate my cardio workouts with the eliptical~

    Reply

  14. ooooohh cinnamon chips! genius! I will have to look for some. Love the surf zombie photo too!

    Reply

  15. oh yum!! This looks incredible!! Coffee cake is one of my all time favorites!!!!!! Looks delicious!

    Reply

  16. This looked so yummy I had to try last weekend. I don’t know what happen, but that cake was gone in minutes. LOL!

    If you are still looking for cinnamon chips you can find them here. http://www.preparedpantry.com/gourmet-cinnamon-chips.aspx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

