Burnt Sugar Cake

Trying to get a more golden tan in the sun!

I baked this cake early in the morning but didn’t have a chance to frost it until the afternoon. I only have a little over a week left until I go back to work and the Beau has been making the most of the free time left with me. After I baked the cake, he made breakfast and then we went out to the movies and lunch.

This was the first time I made a syrup, and a burnt sugar one at that! It ended up looking like an amber colored corn syrup. The batter was a little thick and instead of pouring in 1/2 of the burnt sugar syrup, I poured in 1/4 of the burnt sugar. Oops. I didn’t think the frosting was going to come together when I mixed the ingredients together prior to adding the milk. It looked a bit crumbly but the milk took care of that. The frosting was sweet but not overly, I cut down on the powdered sugar. It was a really nice cake and I enjoyed trying something new like the burnt sugar.

Check out the other cakes baked by the Cake Slice Bakers here. You can get the recipe from the Southern Cakes book by Nancie McDermott which is the book the Cake Slice Bakers are currently using to bake scrumptious cakes!

When I finished frosting it, I went in the backyard to get a picture of it in sunlight. It was a really nice day today. The puppy was with me and I tried to get a picture of him with the cake but he’s a bit camera shy. Here’s the best picture I took of him today:

 

Wait, was that a lizard I heard in the bushes?

If you have some free time, go see The Blind Side. BEST MOVIE EVER! I LOVED this movie and even more so because it’s based upon true events. Go see it! I totally wanted to tell everyone waiting in line to see the new vampire movie that they were going to the wrong movie!

11 responses to this post.

  1. Your cake looks wonderful and such a gorgeous caramel colour

    Reply

  2. Good job on your cake and I too like the texture of it. Can’t say much for the frosting though as I thought it was a tad too sweet for my taste.

    Reply

  3. You did a wonderful job with the frosting it looks great!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Allison on November 22, 2009 at 10:09 am

    What a cute pup! And you cake looks beautiful too! I like your idea of making a mini version of it. I might have to start doing that.

    Reply

  5. Great cake! And a cute doggy!

    Reply

  6. The cake looks great and huge! The puppy is adorable – that’s a nice pose!

    Reply

  7. What a lovely cake! It looks like a really good group you belong to. Puppy is just adorable!

    Reply

  8. Great looking cake!

    Reply

  9. What a cute puppy and a gorgeous cake! I want to see that movie.

    Reply

  10. Beautiful cake and the frosting sounds so delicious! Your puppy is just adorable!

    Reply

  11. […] out! You’ll go into a chocolate coma just looking at all the mud brownie/cakes! Last Cake: Burnt Sugar Cake Next Cake: Who knows? I will say it’s a toss-up between 2 selections! Stop by next […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

