Trying to Catch Up…

Well, let’s see, it’s been a very L – O – N – G time since my last post. I apologize, getting a new job kind of interfered with my daily activities. HAH! Seriously, commuting to Rancho Bernardo and working a 9/80 work schedule is kicking my butt. I’m still trying to adjust to it.
So here are a couple of pictures from my Thanksgiving dinner at my mom’s house. I made the pumpkin pie which was Dorie’s Caramel Pumpkin Pie. The crust turned out to be shy and bashful and retreated when I took it out of the oven. How silly! I also made the fresh Gingered Cranberry and Kumquat relish which was pretty tasty although not everyone agreed – some still prefer it straight out of the can! The relish is hiding behind the jar of rather large celery ‘slices’…

Mom basting the turkey...


Thanksgiving Dinner


In December, TWD does a ‘Secret Santa’ Christmas Card exchange. I drew The Cake Princess. Although I didn’t know that was her blog at the time, I was given her name. She lives in Canada so that was fun. On her Elfster profile she mentioned she likes hand made items. I was still swept up with the commuting to RB thing and really didn’t have a chance to make something unfortunately. I would have enjoyed that more. Hopefully this time next year I’ll be in a more even-keeled situation. HAH! I didn’t even send out Christmas cards this year…
The Food Librarian drew my name. There is no such thing as six degrees of separation between The Food Librarian and myself. She happens to know my cousin, JustJenn, and I happen to know her cousin, Linda. How amazing is that? Well, here is the surprise I received from her:

Elfster surprise from The Food Librarian!


JustJenn must have shared my being a Bruin and my love of cows with her. Hee hee! They are soo cute! I wish I had made my lemon sables after I received this gift, I would have used the Bruin sprinkles instead! Aren’t those mini-clips the cutest? I can hardly wait to try the chocolate pearls!

3 responses to this post.

  1. As much as I hate the Bruins – it’s always better to get gifts that you will love. Hope you had a great holiday!

    Reply

  2. Can you believe Jenn wrote her hatred of the Bruins? Well, I’m going to have to head over to her blog and write about my hatred of the Trojans! 🙂 Glad you like the gift – I hope you like it. The pearls are a perfect topper to any cupcake! – your sorta cousin by now, mary

    Reply

  3. You’re like me! I am also trying to catch up!

    Glad I am not the only one. 😉

    That turkey looks divine. I wish I could gobble it up! Ha!

    Happy belated Holidays!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

