Chocolate Oatmeal Almost-Candy Bars

All stacked up...


SURPRISE! I actually made the TWD pick of the week – Chocolate Oatmeal Almost-Candy Bars selected by Lillian of Confectiona’s Realm. Please visit Lillian at Confectiona’s Realm, she takes the most awesome food photos! I especially like her photo of Dorie’s Rosy Poached Pear and Pistachio Tart. You can also find the recipe there too, but buy Dorie’s book already! Your tastebuds will be soo happy you did!
This was a pretty simple recipe. Although 2 sticks of butter with 2 packed cups of brown sugar is quite um, extreme. I tried to rationalize it by reminding myself of the 3 cups of oats… It was a nice try, HAH! A lot of the TWD Bakers mentioned it being too sweet in the P&Qs, but I didn’t find it too sweet. Could be because I skipped the raisins…
The bottom layer is the oatmeal mixture and it’s also topped with the oatmeal mixture. The topping is to be done haphazardly, which was hard for me to do because I like things nice and orderly. I’m anal like that. But I was pretty successful, even though it kind of creeped me out – looks kind of like cookie dumplings, don’t ask me why it creeps me out… What do you think:

Imperfect topping...


And here it is, the middle shot:

There's not enough chocolate!


Don’t forget to browse the TWD Bakers’ blogs to see all the variations done with this recipe!

Last Time: Lemon Sables
Next Time: Cocoa-Nana Bread

14 responses to this post.

  1. lots of oats totally makes it good for you! ha. nice job

    Reply

  2. Oats are good for you, so this is health food.

    I didn’t add the raisins, and didn’t find it to sweet, but then…my sweet tooth is pretty large.

    Reply

  3. Ooh, nice stack of bars! I think your topping crumble looks perfect and I hever would have thought of dumplings.
    And yes, more chocolate please. šŸ˜‰
    And totally yes, the oats out-do the butter for optimum health!

    Reply

  4. I didn’t like the look of the dumplings on top either, so I didn’t take a picture of them:) The cut bars look great!

    Reply

  5. Love how your top layer came out! šŸ™‚ Very nice!

    Reply

  6. Look perfect from every angle to me. Guys here devoured them in no time, requested more, so I made them again today. Good thing I don’t like chocolate and wasn’t tempted as I would hate to think of the calorie count on these. Love your photos.

    Reply

  7. I think the 3 cups of oats cancels out all the not-so-healthy ingredients in these bars!

    Reply

  8. Your bars look great! I skipped the raisins too. These were a big hit at my house!

    Reply

  9. Your bars look yummy! I loved this recipe too.

    Reply

  10. Nice photos, darling. Great close up of that beautiful oatmeal layer!

    Reply

  11. Your so cute..the oatmeal plops(topping) freaked you out! I think your brownies look good and your topping looks much more uniform then mine. Im totally opposite when it comes to baking, I don’t mind out of order..now when it’s in my house, it has to be in order or I get cranky! Im glad you liked this recipe too!

    Reply

  12. Looks like your bars turned out perfect! You can have my chocolate, I liked the oat layer much better.

    Reply

  13. […] About « Chocolate Oatmeal Almost-Candy Bars […]

    Reply

  14. These look great – funny, they DID look like dumplings! But I loved everything (except the raisins)…. chocolate/oatmeal = a winner! Nicely done!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

