My Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

My Best Chocolate Chip Cookies


These were baked for Christmas last year and although they do appear flat, they also look very inviting! My niece Chelsea took this picture so that could be the reason too. Here’s a picture I took of the cookies I baked for this week’s assignment – which would you rather eat?:

Silpat cookies on the left.

Kait of Kait’s Plate selected Dorie’s recipe for My Best Chocolate Chip Cookies this week. Check out Kait’s blog and see how the cookies turned out for her, you can also see her fabulous photos of her baking and cooking skills! As an added bonus you’ll find the recipe there too!

The P&Qs for these cookies were predominantly about the flatness of the cookies. I didn’t remember them being especially flat when I baked them for Christmas. This time around, I didn’t have my nuts or chocolate chopped when it came time to mix them into the batter. So it was a while before I mixed them in which could account for the flatness this time around. I am the world’s slowest chopper, do you remember the Top Chef episode where, was it Jen?, she took FOREVER to chop the onions? Well, that’s me except I’m slower. Seriously, I got a little blister from chopping three bars of bittersweet chocolate. (I’m crying you a river right now…) The butter might have been a little too soft by then but I plugged on, no time to let it harden up in the refrigerator. I used a baking sheet with parchment paper and another smaller sheet with a Silpat. Can you see the difference between using the two:

Silpat vs parchment paper

I baked these as a Valentine gift for the Beau. I apologized for the flatness but he pooh-poohed that away. He loved these cookies as-is! He said he liked the flatness, so the cookie doesn’t end up being too doughy and also because it focuses on the chocolate chips. He thought these cookies were serious business – chocolate chips with emphasis! Of course, he took them into work, because even though they’re serious business we don’t need to make short work of it. (HAH – I’m trying to be funny – is it working?)

Last Week: Rick Katz’s Brownies for Julia
Next Week: Honey-Wheat Cookies

10 responses to this post.

  1. Although I do own Silpats, I really prefer parchement paper… both your cookies look great in the end anyways! And I’m glad you got rave reviews on them! Nice going…

    Reply

  2. Posted by mikejdunlap on February 16, 2010 at 2:06 pm

    Wow…. I never thought there was a difference – now I want to test all kinds of cookies! Thanks for the comparison – and by the way -they BOTH look wonderful!!!

    Reply

  3. I must say I prefer the top picture, but I wouldn’t turn either cookie down! Interesting difference with the parchment and Silpat. I used parchment, and my cookies were flat. Next time I’ll add more flour like some bakers did.

    Reply

  4. It’s the butter making them that flat, not because you didn’t mix in the ingredients.

    Reply

  5. They look delicious! I think you’re on to something with the Silpat. These spread a lot on parchment so maybe using a Silpat is the way to go.

    Reply

  6. Who cares about flatness, as long as they taste good. Your cookies look great!

    Reply

  7. They look like they turned out really good. Mine were flat but I liked them a lot. Chopping chocolate stinks! It’s much easier to chop if you start with the discs of chocolate though.

    Reply

  8. I think you’re on to something using silpat vs. parchment. Mine were really thin (and I used parchment), so will need to experiment w. silpat next time. Still both versions of your cookie look pretty darn tasty!

    Reply

  9. Yes, you are always fun and funny over here! Your cookies all look wonderful. These were a big hit ith the guys as they love crunchy and crispy cookies…I think it is the potato chip factor…you know, guys love those salty, crunchy, crispy chips each weekend! Yep, I think it’s the texture thing.

    Reply

  10. I am liking your cookies! šŸ™‚

    I personally didn’t like how they turned out so thin. I mean they tasted good, but not a fan of the texture. I like it thick and chewy.

    Yours look great though! I need a glass of milk now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

