MTAOFC Reine de Saba

Happy Birthday Jamie, Wes, and Auntie Betty!


Unfortunately I took crappy pictures of the Reine de Saba (not of my family) so you can’t see how chocolate-y delicious it looks. My mom asked me to bake a birthday cake for Sunday’s family dinner and I wanted to try one of Julia’s cakes. It was fairly easy to bake. It was the first time I used pulverized almonds and now I have extra pulverized almonds that I’m trying very hard not to stuff down my mouth (you pulverize almonds with sugar…). The recipe cracks me up though. Julia’s pretty funny with her instructions. You whip the egg whites and gently fold them into the chocolate mixture. You actually fold the whipped egg whites a little at a time alternating with some of the dry ingredients, but while you gently fold in the egg whites you have to rapidly alternate with the dry ingredients. Rapidly but gently. HAH!
Too bad I didn’t have any rum because this cake also called for some rum to be added to the mix. I used instant espresso instead.
Well, it’s almost 8pm and I’m exhausted. I had to get these posts in tonight before I pass out because I’m trying really hard to keep up. Although I was late with the Honey-Wheat cookies… oops.
Good Night All! (Am I really going to bed before 8pm??? Yeesh)

The best picture of the bunch...


Where's my niece Chelsea with her camera??


Leave a Reply

