Toasted Coconut Custard Tart

Luscious, isn't it? And a little blurry...


Next up after the Honey Wheat Cookies on Sunday, Beryl of Cinemon Girl’s Toasted Coconut Custard Tart selection this week for the TWD Bakers. Visit Beryl and see how fabulous her Toasted Coconut Custard Tart turned out! You can also get the recipe there too, lucky for you.
Tarts are always a challenge for me. I have a really hard time with Dorie’s instruction to ‘gently’ press the dough around the tart pan. I have a heavy hand so there’s no sign of gentleness while pressing the dough in the tart pan. O, well, it baked well at least!

Firmly pressed tart dough...


Then there’s the custard part. I ended up scalding the milk and had to strain it before using it for the custard. It was pretty foamy. I had a hard time trying to figure out if it was boiling until all of a sudden it turned into custard and I had to frantically take the saucepan off the heat and add the vanilla to it. No rum around unfortunately. The coconut was to be lightly toasted. I actually ended up with semi-burnt coconut. Oops, it added some color though. Not a pretty color but color nonetheless.

I can't believe it's not butter! (hee hee!)


The easiest part of this tart was whipping up the cream. YAY! Okay done with the TWD goodie for the week. Took it to the family dinner on Sunday also. It was all gone after dessert was served. I didn’t try it in it’s final form, I tried the custard and liked it even though I don’t like coconut. My sister Karole doesn’t like coconut either but ate her share and loved it!
One more post to go from the Sunday baking day and it’s not from TWD.

Last Week (post): Honey-Wheat Cookies
Next Week: Thumbprints For Us Big Guys

7 responses to this post.

  1. Hey, your tart looks great!

    Reply

  2. Hey! We’re the same with that crust… I love making it cause it’s easy and tasty, but I always end up finding it a bit on the hard side… so that makes two of us.

    Nevertheless, your tart looks very fine!

    Reply

  3. Great looking tart! Wow you have been baking up a storm. That’s cool you and your sister liked it. Dories said even if you dislike coconut this tart will change that! It looks like she was right.
    I left out the booze too.

    Reply

  4. That custard did come together quickly! Glad it was enjoyed

    Reply

  5. If even the non-coconut lovers liked this, then it was a success!

    Reply

  6. What a pretty tart! Your filling looked like mine, I put in a lot of toasted coconut…well, the amount it said, but so many tarts look like they didn’t do that. Yours looks like mine, so that is comforting to me that I did it right maybe! Tarts just look so pretty and fun, don’t they?

    Reply

  7. […] doesn’t look right spelled that way) mushy today. The Beau totally deserves it! Last Week: Toasted Coconut Custard Tart Next Week: Soft Chocolate and Raspberry Tart Possibly related posts: (automatically […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

