Dulce de Leche Duos

Hmmm, kinda skimpy on the dulce de leche filling...


Jodie of Beansy Loves Cake selected Dulce de Leche Duos for the TWD Bakers to bake for Tuesday, March 23. What? Today is Monday, March 29? Well, so it is. As it happened, on Tuesday, March 23, I made the dulce de leche to be used in the recipe. I tried the David Lebovitz method and the recipe said to bake it for 1 to 1.25 hours. HAH! I had to turn the oven off after 1.25 hours because it was past 6pm at that point and Marshall really needed to poo. It turned out to be a late night trying to make the dulce de leche and cool it to room temp before putting it in the refrigerator.

Dulce de Leche - Before...


Dulce de Leche - During...


Dulce de Leche - After! (much after...)


Wednesday, March 24 I made the cookie dough. It was fairly easy so not a late night. It tasted delicious! I added some cinnamon and it smelled yummy too. I had high hopes for these cookies since the dulce de leche was semi-homemade (unintentional reference to Sandra Lee) and the dough was soo good, I wanted to keep on eating it!
I ended up baking the cookies on Friday, March 26. It made a lot of cookies but then you need a lot since you have to sandwich two cookies with the leftover dulce de leche. Ahem, what leftover dulce de leche? I had barely enough to make 4 sandwiches. I think I could scrape the bowl and make a couple more but all the cookies had a thin coating of the dulce de leche. They tasted okay. Maybe I needed more dulce de leche filling… or chocolate.
The next day I tried a cookie and it didn’t taste so good. It was chewy and I want to say it was stale but how could it be stale one day later? I like my cookies either soft or crunchy. I don’t like them chewy that much at all, especially if they’re stale-chewy. I’m not sure what happened, maybe the container I had the cookies in wasn’t air-tight? I don’t think I’ll bake these cookies again.

Duos in dire need of dulce de leche...


But do go and check out Jodie of Beansy Loves Cake to see how her cookies turned out. And lucky you, you can also find the recipe there if you’d like to try your hand at these cookies. You can also get a peek at a few of the cakes she’s been turning out lately – soo cute! Don’t forget to browse through the TWD Bakers and see how their cookies turned out! I’m sure a lot of them were much more successful than I was with these cookies.

Last Week: Soft Chocolate and Raspberry Tart
Next Week: Coconut Tea Cake

One response to this post.

  1. […] About « Dulce de Leche Duos […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

