Swedish Visiting Cake

Swedish, Japanese, Philipino, you name it Visiting Cake!

Nancy of The Dogs Eat the Crumbs selected Dorie’s Swedish Visiting Cake for the TWD Bakers to try their hand at baking.

I was nice and gave the Beau one slice, the rest was all mines! HAH!

I had just finished cooking dinner, well actually, we had just finished eating the dinner I cooked, when I debated whether or not to bake the cake then. I felt like procrastinating, but it was already Sunday evening and really, who was I kidding – was I really going to bake this cake Monday night after a long day at work? Plus it looked really simple to get through since you don’t even need your Kitchen Aid or hand mixer! It seemed it was no time at all before we were having our slice of Swedish Visiting Cake. It was really pleasing! The cake batter was really really yummy. I love anything with lemon in it and this contained the zest of a whole lemon. I used the last of my almond extract and was glad I did since the top of the cake was sprinkled with sliced almonds also.

Lucky visitor! =)

This cake calls for baking in a 9″ cast iron skillet. I used a 10″ cast iron skillet and thanks to Nancy, was able to adjust the ingredient measurements. This cake is out of the oven in no time and more than likely you’ll have all the necessary ingredients in your pantry. So the next time you have unexpected guests, or need a cake in a hurry, no problem!
Be sure to visit Nancy to check out her Swedish Visiting Cake and to get the recipe so you can try your hand at it too! Definitely browse the TWD Bakers to see their variation of Swedish Visiting Cake!

Last Week: Mocha-Marbled Bundt Cake
Next Week: Sweet Cream Biscuits

18 responses to this post.

  1. I didn’t want to share this one at all.

    Reply

  2. Beautiful cake! I love lemon and almond, a great combo.

    Reply

  3. Your cake looks fab in that skillet! I thought the lemon + almond combination was perfect, too! Good job on making the 10″ cake, that means more cake to enjoy, right? This is a great non-chocolate quick recipe to have in the repertory. Thanks for baking along with me this week.

    Reply

  4. I am jealous of all the beautiful cast iron skillets out there this week. I need to get myself one of them. Stat! Your cake looks lovely in your 10″ skillet. How unselfish of you to share 1 slice with the Beau. πŸ˜‰
    -CB
    http://iheartfood4thought.com

    Reply

  5. It definitely wins for being so simple to pull together and the flavor was great! Loved all the lemon in there. Nice job.

    Reply

  6. This looks great!! And its a plus that its simple enough to put together after dinner on a sunday night πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  7. Perfect simplicity!! This was amazing!

    Reply

  8. Your cake turned out great! Im glad you enjoyed this recipe as much as I did! It’s a keeper!

    Reply

  9. Isn’t simplicity the magic word here? Looks great – and I’m impressed that you shared. πŸ™‚ It’s so good you can just sit there and nibble it on your own. I’ll have to try the skillet method next – looks like it was a hit for you!

    Reply

  10. Perfect looking cake there. And it really was super simple and tasted great. I almost skipped it, too, but am glad I made it at the last minute on Sunday as well.

    Reply

  11. Hahaha! The same thing happened at my house…the hubby got one piece and the rest was mine! Looks fabulous!

    Reply

  12. Your cake looks fantastic, I don’t blame you for not sharing! I thought it was fun making this cake in a skillet. You are right about not wanting to bake after a long day on Monday. I pretty much always force myself to complete the TWD assignments on Sundays.

    Reply

  13. Hello . . AMAZING CAKE you have over there! Love the skillet, the close up, and the plate pictures! All divine. I wish they were mine! πŸ˜‰

    Reply

  14. Your cake looks great in its skillet! You were very generous to share this–I have kept the whole thing (well, a half recipe) all to myself.

    Reply

  15. Your cake turned out perfect! Loved this recipe πŸ™‚

    Reply

  16. I chickened out and made mine in a mini pie pan for two reasons: first, I didn’t need a whole one of these hanging around taunting and tempting me (OMW was this good), and second, I visioned everything I have made in my cast iron skillet and kind of gagged at the thought of baking a cake in it. Sometimes I am just nerdy like that…okay, lots of times, who’s counting. Yours looks absolutely lovely and delicious. I might have used the whole lemon zest even though I halved the recipe, yep, I just might have…love the lemon factor.

    Reply

  17. Looks delicious! I wish I made mine in a cast iron pan. Just looks too cool. – mary

    Reply

  18. […] About « Swedish Visiting Cake […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

