Shenandoah Valley Blueberry Cake

Don't the blueberries look luscious??


The Cake Slice Bakers selected Shenandoah Valley Blueberry Cake for the month of June. I seem to have a really hard time getting my cakes done in a timely manner – I mean really, I have a whole month to bake a cake! Last weekend the Beau took me on a motorcycle trip up the coast to San Francisco. This weekend I had to work Saturday. I happen to live in Anaheim Hills and work in Rancho Bernardo. Not a nice commute. I don’t mean to whine (or maybe I do) because I’m sure many of the Cake Slice bakers are moms and have families to take care of while I only have my Marshall. The Beau does a fantastic job taking care of me actually!

Looks like there's not enough cake batter to bake a proper cake...


Back to the cake. Even though I didn’t schedule my time properly this month (or any other month) I knew I wanted to bake this cake because of the blueberries! My absolutely favorite berry! I usually get fresh blueberries and freeze them when I bake with blueberries. I think I read somewhere that frozen blueberries won’t sink to the bottom. Well, I forgot to freeze these guys and was afraid I would end up with blueberry bottom cake. Not to worry – these guys ended up all over the place! I love this cake – so easy to put together and the taste is just perfect – not too sweet so that it makes me think it’s healthy for me, you know, it has fruit in it!

I thought for sure I'd overbaked it!



It reminded me of a blueberry muffin but I like this better, it wasn’t as heavy as muffins can be. I would definitely bake this again. Visit the other Cake Slice Bakers to see how fabulous their Shenandoah Valley Blueberry cakes turned out! And you should buy the book so you can bake this too! (Or you can find the recipe on one of the Cake Slice Bakers posts – I’m too lazy to post it on mine!)

It's hard to eat just one piece of cake...


Holy cow, wait until next month! Next month’s cake sounds very involved so I hope I’ll make time to bake it! I’ll give you a hint, it’s a Sky High cake!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Your cake looks great and absolutely studded with berries.

    Reply

  2. Great job on your cake and I couldn’t agree with you more. This is definitely a keepers’ recipe. Simple but so delicious.

    Reply

  3. Low on sugar and high on fruit. Of course it’s “healthy”! ha ha!

    Your cake looks great!

    Reply

  4. Isn’t this cake great? More so because it’s so simple to make but gives great results.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

